It doesn’t matter who raised the stink, the bottom line is the TD screwed up, the WPBA realized it, which is why they offered to pay the $ entry fee / exemption in to a future WPBA tournament to both players.Alllllright, the dust has settled so I can give all the details.
This was a local WPBA sponsored tournament. It was a qualifier to go to a larger tournament the WPBA is having in Wisconsin in December.
My friend's match that she lost in the loser bracket, her opponent told her she could have the match. This is a sticking point for some. I have been in this scenario, as have many of you. How each one of you want to handle this is up to you if it's YOUR tournament. I totally get the three lives point and think it's valid.
In this case it was known and accepted by the final three opponents. The tournament director accepted this and allowed her to continue.
What happened was after the dust settled the final opponent, who was in the hot seat, was a junior player from out of state. She had a coach there with her. One of her sponsors from Texas was upset that she lost and is the one that raised the stink about my friend winning the whole thing.
In my opinion if you know the scenario and still play the person you can't go back and complain. That would be like if you had a 15 minute late rule, your opponent is 17 minutes late and disqualified. You say it's cool and you will allow that person to play. If you lose you can't go back and say now it's not cool they should have been disqualified.
The real shitty thing is this is the first legit WPBA sponsored organization/events for women in the area. We have lots of great female players. The person who caused all the drama is a man from Texas affiliated with a sponsor of the girl that lost in the finals. He has ruined what these women had established. It wasn't perfect but it was a product of women here that wanted to build something for themselves.
The resolve is my friend keeps the win and the 2nd place player whose sponsor dude pitched a bitch is getting a paid entry to the WPBA tournament in Wisconsin. Seeing as she played my friend, knowing and accepting how she got there, lost, and shook her hand after she lost, I think that's crap.
If her opponent wanted to concede her the match, that should have been done before the match even started or certainly well before the match was completed. Once the match was completed and she had lost, it was too late for her to be moved on regardless of the wishes of the winner of that match, who chose to drop out of the tournament. That’s an easy call for any TD that has any experience at all, at any level.