Tunica One Pocket rule question

naji

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I marked in RED what i think confusing, it says after 1st wrong pocket shot in you opponent pocket, one can make a ball in opponent pocket and it is spotted back?? Is this how it reads?

Shooting into the Wrong Pocket: If a player shoots into the wrong pocket and continues to shoot because their opponent failed to notify them of the error, any additional balls pocketed in that inning do not count, whether pocketed for the shooter’s or the opponent. The first shot to the wrong pocket in a given inning is the shooter’s responsibility, and the opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke. However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls.
3-Foul Rule: If you commit 3 successive fouls in one game you lose the game. Your opponent must notify you that you are on 2 fouls immediately before your next inning.
 
It says you are responsible for knowing what pocket is yours. If you do not, and shoot a ball into your opponents pocket thinking it was your pocket, that ball stays down. If you continue to shoot balls in that pocket, any balls beyond the first one do not count. The first ball stays down and all subsequent balls are spotted back up.
 
It says you are responsible for knowing what pocket is yours. If you do not, and shoot a ball into your opponents pocket thinking it was your pocket, that ball stays down. If you continue to shoot balls in that pocket, any balls beyond the first one do not count. The first ball stays down and all subsequent balls are spotted back up.

Ok, there are two seperate paragraphs

Shooting into the Wrong Pocket: If a player shoots into the wrong pocket and continues to shoot because their opponent failed to notify them of the error, any additional balls pocketed in that inning do not count, whether pocketed for the shooter’s or the opponent.

Top one i agree with you all balls comes out

Paragraph below suggests a shooter can deliberately (or can fake it) pocket a key ball in opponents pocket and it comes out after 1st wrong ball!!

The first shot to the wrong pocket in a given inning is the shooter’s responsibility, and the opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke. However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls.
 
Ok, there are two seperate paragraphs

Shooting into the Wrong Pocket: If a player shoots into the wrong pocket and continues to shoot because their opponent failed to notify them of the error, any additional balls pocketed in that inning do not count, whether pocketed for the shooter’s or the opponent.

Top one i agree with you all balls comes out

Paragraph below suggests a shooter can deliberately (or can fake it) pocket a key ball in opponents pocket and it comes out after 1st wrong ball!!

The first shot to the wrong pocket in a given inning is the shooter’s responsibility, and the opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke. However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls.

It does not suggest that. It says the first shot is the shooters responsibility, meaning if you screw up and shoot a ball in the wrong pocket, your opponent gets to keep it - hence the "opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke".

"However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls". This means any balls after the first stroke do not stay down and they are spotted.

I am not sure how to explain it any different. Sorry.
 
It does not suggest that. It says the first shot is the shooters responsibility, meaning if you screw up and shoot a ball in the wrong pocket, your opponent gets to keep it - hence the "opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke".

"However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls". This means any balls after the first stroke do not stay down and they are spotted.

I am not sure how to explain it any different. Sorry.

The one pocket rule i know, i can pocket my opponent balls all day long as safety play and he keeps them, are you telling me if i play safe opponent ball that i make for him comes out to spot?
 
The one pocket rule i know, i can pocket my opponent balls all day long as safety play and he keeps them, are you telling me if i play safe opponent ball that i make for him comes out to spot?

No. Please reread. Maybe someone else can explain it.
 
I am not trying to be mean, snobby, snooty or the like; I am just using this “strong” approach to get you to understand quickly, that’s all, so don’t take any of this the wrong way.

The one pocket rule i know, i can pocket my opponent balls all day long as safety play and he keeps them,

No you can’t your inning ends (most of the time unless you pocket one in your pocket to) so your inning is over once you shoot 1 ball!

are you telling me if i play safe opponent ball that i make for him comes out to spot?

No that ball stays down and your inning ends. The rule is there to cover someone that has forgotten what pocket is his. And so the sitter can not take advantage when that has happend.
 
I think the key word is inning! An inning in my understanding is cautious shots till a miss.
 
The first shot to the wrong pocket in a given inning is the shooter’s responsibility, and the opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke. However, any other pocketed balls in the wrong pocket in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls
I think you may be overlooking the parts of the rule highlighted above.

pj
chgo
 
I think you may be overlooking the parts of the rule highlighted above.

pj
chgo

But, Pat, there is still something wrong with this rule. Your opponent breaks and gets several balls over near his pocket. You make one for him. He fails to declare the inning over. You then make all of the other problem balls in his pocket. Now you say, "Oh that's not my pocket." He only gets the first ball and the others spot up.
 
Last edited:
My guess

This rule was created to force the
sitting player to call the foul. Since
balls advantageous to him will be
spotted up the sitting player will
want to leave the balls as is rather
than spotted.
 
By stating "illegally pocketed" is that suggesting a foul has occurred and the player owes a ball from his own pocket? I think the rest of the rule is pretty clear and in place to avoid arguments.

I doubt this happens very often in a big tourney like this anyway. I mean if you start shooting balls in the wrong pocket wtf were you doing when you were suppose to be paying attention.
 
But, Pat, there is still something wrong with this rule. Your opponent breaks and gets several balls over near his pocket. You make one for him. He fails to declare the inning over. You then make all of the other problem balls in his pocket. Now you say, "Oh that's not my pocket." He only gets the first ball and the others spot up.
Unsportsmanlike. Loss of game/match.

pj
chgo
 
But, Pat, there is still something wrong with this rule. Your opponent breaks and gets several balls over near his pocket. You make one for him. He fails to declare the inning over. You then make all of the other problem balls in his pocket. Now you say, "Oh that's not my pocket." He only gets the first ball and the others spot up.

My thought on this is you would want to tell him immediately after he pocketed the first ball in your pocket. Why, because your ball are close to you pocket and can pocket them yourself and possibly run out or move more ball toward you hole.
 
Back
Top