two quick and easy questions for 1 hole players...

Thunderball

Auto rep for belly laughs
Silver Member
Both have come up tonight:
1. I owe a ball, but I run out...how does that work? There were balls left...just that I got my 8...do I need nine or shape for a spot shot after 8?

2. The other guy makes a ball in my hole, but with the side of his cue after he shoots. Just kinda whacks it in on accident. Is it my option to leave it? Must it spot? Has he fouled?

Caught a break between games so I thought I would post these up...any help appreciated. Long time pool player...not a very experienced 1 hole though...kinda noobin it.
 
Both have come up tonight:

2. The other guy makes a ball in my hole, but with the side of his cue after he shoots. Just kinda whacks it in on accident. Is it my option to leave it? Must it spot? Has he fouled?

Caught a break between games so I thought I would post these up...any help appreciated. Long time pool player...not a very experienced 1 hole though...kinda noobin it.

no ball doesnt stay down......put ball back where it was....he has fouled if you are playing all ball fouls....most people would put it back where it was....most people play cue ball fouls only.....but that is up to yall.....hope this helps.....
 
You need 9 and the ball in your pocket spots up. Whether it is a foul depends on if you are playing all ball fouls. Most casual games, even for money, are played cue ball fouls only.
Were there balls on the table after you ran 8? If not, one of your balls would spot. I guess you could shoot it in if you had position on it, it's been quite a while since I've seen this.
 
Last edited:
You need to make 9.

The accidentily pocketed ball spots back where it was. Its a foul if you are playing all ball fouls. If you are playing cue ball foul only, its not a foul unless it impedes or changes the result ofthe shot. I.E. if a moving ball hits it or would have hit it.
 
ball count

You owed one and ran 8 straight? Yes then you have to put up the ball at the end of your run, then shoot it.

How did you guys end up finishing that game?
 
You owed one and ran 8 straight? Yes then you have to put up the ball at the end of your run, then shoot it.

How did you guys end up finishing that game?

As a point of fact I asked that question as though I had run 8 for clarity.
I ran 6, dogged a simple 7th shaping #8. (Story of my life).

But had I made the last two I really wasn't sure what was next. Either I had to spot one or I simply had to pocket 9 balls. Got it now and thanks all.

As far as the whacked in ball, we got that one right. It was the only thing that made sense at the time. Put it back where it was with no foul.
 
Well, rereading these replies maybe I don't have it lol.

Do I shoot in 8 and spot one before shooting at #9?.... Or do I simply keep shooting if I can just play 9 balls off?
 
As a point of fact I asked that question as though I had run 8 for clarity.
I ran 6, dogged a simple 7th shaping #8. (Story of my life).

But had I made the last two I really wasn't sure what was next. Either I had to spot one or I simply had to pocket 9 balls. Got it now and thanks all.

As far as the whacked in ball, we got that one right. It was the only thing that made sense at the time. Put it back where it was with no foul.

Sorry Bud see rule 6.2 Only balls pocketed on scratches,or balls off the table
get spotted.{Those scored in a opponent's pocket]:sorry
Believe you were in a "friendly" game but nuances in one-pocket[rues interpretation,or variations]need to be discussed prior
to play.Failure to clarify,may lead to unpleasant ramifications/erectifications!
 
Last edited:
If you need 9 and there is 9 balls on table,then you need to run those 9,if there are 8 on the table and you need 9 then you would have to run those 8 then spot 1ball and shoot.
 
Unless local rules specify otherwise, there is no "all fouls" in one pocket. One pocket, by the official rules is "cue ball fouls only". See rule 6.1 below

6.1 Unless otherwise announced by the tournament director, One Pocket is played according to the World General Rules 1.16.1, ‘cue ball fouls only’. In the event that a player accidentally moves a ball, the opponent may elect to have the disturbed ball remain in its new position or be restored to its original position. When balls are restored, they shall be placed as close as possible to their original positions, with no advantage to be gained by the offending player. If no official is available to restore disturbed balls, then the players must come to agreement on satisfactory replacement of the disturbed balls prior to continuing play.

So technically in question 2, would be your choice to leave the ball in your hole(new position) or put it back but no foul on the shooter.
 
Last edited:
My question on the hitting your ball in accidently using the side of the cue (& I'm not sure of the answer, just bringing up a point) is:

If you knock a ball off the table, I believe it is a foul. So wouldn't it be the same if you knock a ball in a pocket? I'm not saying you keep the ball, but it may still be a foul because it left the playing area, cue ball foul or not this is what I would think would be the logical outcome.

Ball does not count for you & spots up (replaced), but it is a foul.

Anyone else think this is true?

Dave
 
Last edited:
My question on the hitting your ball in accidently using the side of the cue (& I'm not sure of the answer, just bringing up a point) is:

If you knock a ball off the table, I believe it is a foul. So wouldn't it be the same if you knock a ball in a pocket? I'm not saying you keep the ball, but it may still be a foul because it left the playing area, cue ball foul or not this is what I would think would be the logical outcome.

Ball does not count for you & spots up (replaced), but it is a foul.

Anyone else think this is true?

Dave
NO,If ball was intentionally knocked in,unsportsman like,then it is a foul.Rule on accidentally
moving balls, covers many scenarios,and is often mis-understood.:sorry:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top