US Open question; Alex vs SVB

NJ_Qball

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxRP7w6ADTg

Shane pushes out on the first break. Alex jumps, and clearly hits the 7 first (~1:20 mark). The video jumps, but the commentators say "he would've intended the one go into the other pocket" and "he got away with that one".

My question is, did Shane end up with BIH or did Alex continue? Were there referees? I know Shane won, but this occurrence bothered me a bit if BIH was not given up. The video appears edited, so just looking for some clarification.

thank you
 
in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxRP7w6ADTg

Shane pushes out on the first break. Alex jumps, and clearly hits the 7 first (~1:20 mark). The video jumps, but the commentators say "he would've intended the one go into the other pocket" and "he got away with that one".

My question is, did Shane end up with BIH or did Alex continue? Were there referees? I know Shane won, but this occurrence bothered me a bit if BIH was not given up. The video appears edited, so just looking for some clarification.

thank you
I wouldn't be surprised if Alex didn't see that happen since the cue ball had his full attention. I'm pretty sure Alex continued playing as I don't remember a foul being called in that situation. Besides, Alex didn't seem he was being called on it as he returned with the regular cue for the 2 ball hit prior to the edit.
 
Last edited:
it was clearly edited and im sure shane received bih. Alex jump shot had all 9 balls on the table and the next clip, there was only 6 balls on there.
 
Last edited:
I remember seeing this live and I didn't even notice he hit the 7. He kept shooting. If you notice Jim Wyche said "it would have been nice if he made it in the intended pocket" that would indicate to me he didn't notice it either. And you can see Alex grabbed his playing cue. I don't think anyone noticed it.
 
in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxRP7w6ADTg

Shane pushes out on the first break. Alex jumps, and clearly hits the 7 first (~1:20 mark). The video jumps, but the commentators say "he would've intended the one go into the other pocket" and "he got away with that one".

My question is, did Shane end up with BIH or did Alex continue? Were there referees? I know Shane won, but this occurrence bothered me a bit if BIH was not given up. The video appears edited, so just looking for some clarification.

thank you

i remember watching this shot but didnt notice the 7 move.
In fact im sure the commentators and Alex didnt see it either.

Alex fluked (slopped) the 1 in another pocket and continued which is why Wych said
"he would've intended the one go into the other pocket" and "he got away with that one".
Where was the ref for an A side final?... is a good question.
Maybe Barry Behrman should see this.
 
Let's consider that fluked 1 ball by SVB in the very in the next rack payback for that missed call, shall we?
 
**Let's consider that fluked 1 ball by SVB in the very in the next rack payback for that missed call, shall we?

Except for that wasn't a foul, and Alex's shot clearly was :wink:
*My original statement had alluded to that fact (i.e., missed call).
thumbsup.gif


he could see the ball how is that payback?:confused:

Hah?? Alex played safe on the 1 ball forcing shane to kick.
*I was being facetious but was my comment really that confusing?
 
*My original statement had alluded to that fact (i.e., missed call).
thumbsup.gif




Hah?? Alex played safe on the 1 ball forcing shane to kick.
*I was being facetious but was my comment really that confusing?

missed that rack. saw rack 3 and commentator saying fluked after the 1 ball. :lol:
 
At this point it's really irrelevant . I can't stand it when someone at a tournament walks around saying such and such fouled or didnt mark a game. Once the next shot is played its history. No need to talk about it then. Call a ref or forget it
 
it was clearly edited and im sure shane received bih. Alex jump shot had all 9 balls on the table and the next clip, there was only 6 balls on there.

That ^, the next shot they show the balls are in totally different positions, whoever posted the video cut out a bit.
 
I was watching that too... and I would've bet money the 7 moved; but no one called it. So I'm guessing it was just a visual weirdness that sometimes happens when the cueball flies over a darker colored ball. Shane didn't call it - no ref - nothing from the commentators; must have been my eyes playing tricks.

Also, as was already stated - did it cost Shane the rack? the match? nope. it's in the past and it didn't affect the outcome of the match.
 
Back
Top