VNEA / BCA rule question - help

chas522

New member
Here was the situation: 8 ball, mid game. Shooter takes a shot and rattles the pocket - his ball does NOT drop, just sits in the pocket. He, however, thought it DID drop and got down on his next shot and is ready to pull the trigger. Second shooter says WHOA . . . your ball didn’t drop and so he relinquished the table. Here is the question: IF the 1st shooter had gone ahead and shot the next shot and made it BEFORE the opponent had said anything, would that have been a foul - or - would he have been allowed to continue to shoot (since the opponent remained silent) ? This is a VNEA/BCA sanctioned league. PLEASE if you can, site the rule, one way or the other.
 
Last edited:
If the player calls a foul before he shoots, the player gets to play from the location of cue ball. If the player allows the other guy to shoot, it is not a foul and he continues to play.
I don’t think so…

If he actually shoots out of turn, it’s a foul. That would result in BIH. Not simply playing from the current position. No?
 
Last edited:
If the player calls a foul before he shoots, the player gets to play from the location of cue ball. If the player allows the other guy to shoot, it is not a foul and he continues to play.
There was no foul committed at that point so there was no foul to call.
If he rattled the pocket and did not fall, then continued to shoot anyway, it's a foul.
 
Isn’t this the same situation as shooting the wrong suit? Your guy gets up and shoots wrong suit, it’s a foul. If you don’t call it, he shoots twice, no foul and that’s his suit. In the OP scenario, no foul has occurred until the guy actually shoots.
 
This is the important condition: As soon as the first player misses, it becomes the second player's turn.
Thus, if the first shooter touches the cue ball during the second player's turn, it is a foul on the first player and ball-in-hand for second player.
 
Here was the situation: 8 ball, mid game. Shooter takes a shot and rattles the pocket - his ball does NOT drop, just sits in the pocket. He, however, thought it DID drop and got down on his next shot and is ready to pull the trigger. Second shooter says WHOA . . . your ball didn’t drop and so he relinquished the table. Here is the question: IF the 1st shooter had gone ahead and shot the next shot and made it BEFORE the opponent had said anything, would that have been a foul - or - would he have been allowed to continue to shoot (since the opponent remained silent) ? This is a VNEA/BCA sanctioned league. PLEASE if you can, site the rule, one way or the other.

It's only a foul if the player shoots the shot after missing the ball, technically his opponent was "nice" and warned him before that happened. You can't "save" fouls to call at a later time, in this case though there was no foul yet, just a future foul. I think it would take a second shot after the miss for the foul to be called as missed by the opponent and too late to call it now. That prevents things like waiting till the player clears out some more balls before calling the foul.
 
Back
Top