VNEA Rule Question

Dockter

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Ran into this tonight ( it's not the first time but it's normally the other team doing it and we normally give the balls ). My team member breaks and makes a stripe. His 2nd shot he makes the 8. Is the score 10-0 or 10-1? Like I said we normally give the other team the ball but I'm guessing beings it's an open table it's 10-0 since nothing has been claimed but does anyone know the actual rule on this?
 
I agree, the shooter loses 10-0 as nothing was established in the game so far. It would be like dry breaking leaving all 15 balls on the table and someone dumping the 8 ball only on the first shot on the open table.
Of course, when breaking and making one or more balls on the break, it's also still called an open table.
No credit is given to the breaker on the break shot, he only gets credit when he establishes a called made shot.

I agree with jspence91 also at 100%
 
I agree, the shooter loses 10-0 as nothing was established in the game so far. It would be like dry breaking leaving all 15 balls on the table and someone dumping the 8 ball only on the first shot on the open table.
Of course, when breaking and making one or more balls on the break, it's also still called an open table.
No credit is given to the breaker on the break shot, he only gets credit when he establishes a called made shot.

I agree with jspence91 also at 100%

Any idea how this is applied in BCA? I'm playing in BCA for the first time and had a situation where I had to hold my opponent to 2 balls for us to win the match. It was his break, he makes a ball on the break and scratches...he still got credit for the ball according to them...so now he needs 1 ball. I ran out and we won so it didn't hurt us but it didn't seem fair to get the credit for a ball when he scratched either..
 
Every BCA or VNEA league or event I have played is VNEA by points and BCA by wins.

In VNEA even if the breaker made 4 stripes and 4 solids the score would still be 10-0 if he hasn't established on a legal shot. Calling a opening ball and making it but also sending the 8 down is not a legal shot, and is still a 10-0.
 
Every BCA or VNEA league or event I have played is VNEA by points and BCA by wins.

In VNEA even if the breaker made 4 stripes and 4 solids the score would still be 10-0 if he hasn't established on a legal shot. Calling a opening ball and making it but also sending the 8 down is not a legal shot, and is still a 10-0.

Wow, that's different and I've seen this happen wrong a lot of times. Open table and with 1 of each down when the 8 is made we normally score it 10-1.
 
Back
Top