VNEA Rules Question

bigchiefnd

red and black u like that
Silver Member
I play league in North Dakota and shoot on Valley tables, so I'm assuming we use VNEA 8 ball rules as the standard. I had a situation come up in league last night that I need help with. My opponent broke dry, I ran 3 solids out and missed my fourth ball, he proceeds to step up to the table and fire one of my balls in, I call foul and he tells me that I have to inform him that he was stripes and that he is allowed to continue shooting.

I actually tried to yell at him while he was getting down on the shot, but he fired it in anyhow. I'm not a bad sportsman, but I took BIH and he was in a bad mood after I ran out and gave him a zero.

Was I wrong here?
 
I play league in North Dakota and shoot on Valley tables, so I'm assuming we use VNEA 8 ball rules as the standard. I had a situation come up in league last night that I need help with. My opponent broke dry, I ran 3 solids out and missed my fourth ball, he proceeds to step up to the table and fire one of my balls in, I call foul and he tells me that I have to inform him that he was stripes and that he is allowed to continue shooting.

I actually tried to yell at him while he was getting down on the shot, but he fired it in anyhow. I'm not a bad sportsman, but I took BIH and he was in a bad mood after I ran out and gave him a zero.

Was I wrong here?

You're right.
 
You have no obligation to tell him what suit he is, and I think it was darn sportsmanlike of you to try to tell him that he was shooting your ball.
 
However if you let him shoot i think its 3 balls of that suit without informing him then he becomes that suit. But in this instance you are correct he needs to review the rules. Or pay attention
 
I play league in North Dakota and shoot on Valley tables, so I'm assuming we use VNEA 8 ball rules as the standard. I had a situation come up in league last night that I need help with. My opponent broke dry, I ran 3 solids out and missed my fourth ball, he proceeds to step up to the table and fire one of my balls in, I call foul and he tells me that I have to inform him that he was stripes and that he is allowed to continue shooting.

I actually tried to yell at him while he was getting down on the shot, but he fired it in anyhow. I'm not a bad sportsman, but I took BIH and he was in a bad mood after I ran out and gave him a zero.

Was I wrong here?

You don't have to tell him. I don't even think you need to tell him even if he asks you going exactly by the rules. It's a "you snooze you loose" thing. I'm not 100% sure of the rule if the opponent asks you which group is whose, but my nagging back of the brain is telling me you are not obliged to tell him. Not that most players would NOT tell them, but going by the letter of the rule, I don't think you need to.
 
Its up to your opponent to pay attention to the game. When he steps up to the table, he can obviously see what suit he is or by checking the balls on the table or in the return.

He can ask you what balls he is shooting.

Here is the rule that he had mixed up. Obviously he shot one of your balls by mistake.
Or maybe not. Maybe he was trying to pull a fast one.

It is not your responsibility to tell your opponent that he is shooting one of your balls.
You called a Foul which is correct.

If you hadn't called a Foul and allowed him to continue shooting your balls in, then after the second ball that was potted, he would have been solids.

I know that there have been times while sitting down and watching my opponent, it seems that he is aiming at one of his balls from the angle you are seeing the table from so you just assume that he knows what he is shooting at.

I was reffing a tourney once where this happened. A player watched as his opponent ran all his balls off the table and was down on the eight before he told his opponent that he had been shooting his balls in. He figured that he would call a Foul and be on the 8.

Nope. I told him that seeing how he watched his opponent shoot all his balls in, he just took over your suit and he was rightfully on the 8.

Betcha that was the last time he tried that one.

So, you can be a nice guy and tell your opponent that he is shooting one of your balls or you can let him do it once and call Foul. Up to you.
Either way is fine. But he is wrong on this one.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the input, I thought I was correct on the call and didn't want any bad feelings over it. He even told me I shot a stripe in when all the stripes were on the table. I left him kind of a bad shot on stripes and while he was looking over the table, I assumed he was going to shoot at a stripe and paid the waitress for my rum and coke. When I turned around I saw him aiming up at one of mine and yelled at him, "what are you calling?" but he slammed mine in and I called a foul. I would've told him he was stripes if he would have stopped, even though I know I'm not obligated to.

We were down 2 rounds to 1 and 5 balls for the match, and this game turned the match into a 3 to 2 win for us and all the bad feelings that go along with it. Oh well, I wish people would just pay more attention and these stupid things wouldn't happen.
 
Its up to your opponent to pay attention to the game. When he steps up to the table, he can obviously see what suit he is or by checking the balls on the table or in the return.

He can ask you what balls he is shooting.

Here is the rule that he had mixed up. Obviously he shot one of your balls by mistake.
Or maybe not. Maybe he was trying to pull a fast one.

It is not your responsibility to tell your opponent that he is shooting one of your balls.
You called a Foul which is correct.

If you hadn't called a Foul and allowed him to continue shooting your balls in, then after the second ball that was potted, he would have been solids.

I know that there have been times while sitting down and watching my opponent, it seems that he is aiming at one of his balls from the angle you are seeing the table from so you just assume that he knows what he is shooting at.

I was reffing a tourney once where this happened. A player watched as his opponent ran all his balls off the table and was down on the eight before he told his opponent that he had been shooting his balls in. He figured that he would call a Foul and be on the 8.

Nope. I told him that seeing how he watched his opponent shoot all his balls in, he just took over your suit and he was rightfully on the 8.

Betcha that was the last time he tried that one.

So, you can be a nice guy and tell your opponent that he is shooting one of your balls or you can let him do it once and call Foul. Up to you.
Either way is fine. But he is wrong on this one.

This is all accurate and good info on VNEA rules regarding your question.
 
Back
Top