Weird BIH / Cue Ball Fouls Only situation....

We just discussed this in another thread. A lot of people get the Cue Ball Fouls Only rule confused. That rule ONLY applies to situations when the disturbed ball is NOT moving. That is to say, if you're getting down on a shot and you touch a ball, it's not a foul. This rule is not to be applied to balls in motion. You touch a moving ball, it's a foul and possibly a loss of game (depending on the situation and the game being played).
 
So you mean I just can't move all the other balls closer to the pockets since it's cue-ball fouls only? :p

If you move a ball (directly or indirectly) and it affects the outcome of the shot, that's a foul and BIH for the other player. If this weren't true, it'd be pretty easy to cheat.
 
Samiel said:
So you mean I just can't move all the other balls closer to the pockets since it's cue-ball fouls only? :p

If you move a ball (directly or indirectly) and it affects the outcome of the shot, that's a foul and BIH for the other player. If this weren't true, it'd be pretty easy to cheat.

I think any ball moved is moved directly, the question is then intentional or unintentional....then we enter the Unsportsmanlike Conduct area
 
On the question of touching a ball in motion; although it is not specifically addressed in the rules, it is a foul. I'm confident that the BCA Pool League will address this issue in future publications.
Also thanks to sde for enlightening me on ?OP?.

Ne14tennis is correct in that the ball that dropped in a pocket stays down since it wasn't the 9 ball and it's BIH to the non fouling player since the ball was in motion when it hit the stick.

Thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sde
bookersman said:
On the question of touching a ball in motion; although it is not specifically addressed in the rules, it is a foul. I'm confident that the BCA Pool League will address this issue in future publications.
Also thanks to sde for enlightening me on ?OP?.

Ne14tennis is correct in that the ball that dropped in a pocket stays down since it wasn't the 9 ball and it's BIH to the non fouling player since the ball was in motion when it hit the stick.

Thanks.

Ok, I think you were just a little confused that the ball was already in motion. So everyone is in agreement then? Ball stays down and BIH for opponent?
 
bookersman said:
On the question of touching a ball in motion; although it is not specifically addressed in the rules, it is a foul. I'm confident that the BCA Pool League will address this issue in future publications.
Also thanks to sde for enlightening me on ?OP?.

Ne14tennis is correct in that the ball that dropped in a pocket stays down since it wasn't the 9 ball and it's BIH to the non fouling player since the ball was in motion when it hit the stick.

Thanks.


Well, not necessarily. The ball doesn't automatically stay down. When you hit a ball in motion, it is definitely a foul but final resolution of the matter is specific to the situation. Depending on what was affected, the referee may need to be called over to make a ruling on ball placement and penalty. The incoming player has a lot of power here and can ask for restoration if it favors him. Also, if you move a ball in motion that could have changed the outcome of the entire game, the incoming player can make a case for a win. Under most circumstances, things are fairly random and your answer is right - you play as is. My point is, there are SOME situations where this does not apply and a referee is needed.
 
Here is a perfect example (8-ball)-

CueTable Help



If this happened and I'm the incoming player, I'm going to argue for the win. I don't feel it should be BIH, play as is.
 
Good point Jude. This reminds me (although not the same exact situation) of a 9-ball tournament I played in once. It was the semi-finals and it was hill-hill. I hooked my opponent on the 6 ball. The 7 and 8 were tied up to the point where neither was pocketable. He kicks at the 6, misses, and the cueball is running straight toward the tied up balls when he picks it up and hands it to me!! I asked him what the F he was doing and he played it off like he had no idea why I was pissed. The TD ruled that I had ball in hand and nothing was to be done about him interferring with the rolling cue ball. I still got out, but some people just AREN'T qualified to run tournaments.
 
easy-e said:
Good point Jude. This reminds me (although not the same exact situation) of a 9-ball tournament I played in once. It was the semi-finals and it was hill-hill. I hooked my opponent on the 6 ball. The 7 and 8 were tied up to the point where neither was pocketable. He kicks at the 6, misses, and the cueball is running straight toward the tied up balls when he picks it up and hands it to me!! I asked him what the F he was doing and he played it off like he had no idea why I was pissed. The TD ruled that I had ball in hand and nothing was to be done about him interferring with the rolling cue ball. I still got out, but some people just AREN'T qualified to run tournaments.


Exactly. In that instance, the referee has to consider the typical quality of play for the event (players involved). That can be an automatic loss of game, too.
 
Official complete BCAPL response...

...is pending. Sorry - REALLY busy right now and it will take me a while to put together the complete response with backgrounds. However, the short answer for BCAPL is:

If a ball set in motion as a result of the shot is touched by the player, player's clothing or equipment: it is a foul. The opponent receives BIH and does not have the option of restoration, even if the disturbed ball is pocketed. If such a disturbed ball is pocketed, it remains pocketed.

Though it has historically been applied this way in most circumstances, this actually does not appear in so many words in the current BCAPL rules, and that has been corrected for the next edition and will be posted on the BCAPL web site soon. It appears as new 1.33.9: It is a foul if you disturb a ball that is in motion. Your opponent has no restoration option.

(Just an example of how something so basic can slip through the cracks, even for 2 years, no matter how hard you try. One of our fine referees brought it to our attention several months ago.)

This answer assumes that the OP was referring to disturbing a ball in motion. If it was a stationary ball, traditional rulings apply and are covered by the current BCAPL Rule 1.33 as written.

More complete response to follow later...

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Senior Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net


* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.4.3 and 9.4.4 apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* There is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules". The BCA does not edit nor is responsible for the content of the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
 
Last edited:
tatcat2000 said:
...is pending. Sorry - REALLY busy right now and it will take me a while to put together the complete response with backgrounds. However, the short answer for BCAPL is:

If a ball set in motion as a result of the shot is touched by the player, player's clothing or equipment: it is a foul. The opponent receives BIH and does not have the option of restoration, even if the disturbed ball is pocketed. If such a disturbed ball is pocketed, it remains pocketed.

Though it has historically been applied this way in most circumstances, this actually does not appear in so many words in the current BCAPL rules, and that has been corrected for the next edition and will be posted on the BCAPL web site soon. It appears as new 1.33.9: It is a foul if you disturb a ball that is in motion. Your opponent has no restoration option.

(Just an example of how something can slip through the cracks, even for 2 years, no matter how hard you try. One of our fine referees brought it to our attention several months ago.)

This answer assume that the OP was referring to disturbing a ball in motion. If it was a stationary ball, traditional rulings apply and are covered by the current BCAPL Rule 1.33 as written.

More complete response to follow later...

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Senior Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net


* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.4.3 and 9.4.4 apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* There is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules". The BCA does not edit nor is responsible for the content of the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.

I'm very curious to see what the long answer will be. Like the example I provided, what if the game is 8-ball and it appears the shooter will likely pocket the 8-ball prematurely yet accidentally changes the path of the object ball? I mean, no matter what your response is today, when it happens to me, I'm still going to get a ruling.
 
I'm coming into all this a little late so I will just recap a couple of the things discussed.

If you touch a ball set in motion by the shot it is a foul...period. Opponent does NOT have the option of restoration and has BIH. As a referee I would give him the benefit of the doubt as to whether he did it on purpose. It's one less ball on the table and the incoming player has BIH. Highly unlikely this would have been done intentionally. It's situation specific.

If I was called to a table where a player intentionally picked up or deflected a moving ball to stop it from breaking up a pack...it would be player misconduct foul and a loss of that game.

The bottom line on player misconduct in this situation comes down to intent.
 
Official BCAPL response

Sorry for resurrecting this thread, but I promised Jude an answer, and I will not fail in that promise. So Jude (and all) - ten weeks late and a dollar short, here we go...

The discussion that follows refers specifically to the diagram posted by Jude in post 28.

I am going to address it as if I had been called to the table to make a ruling, and as I would if I were anywhere up the chain from ref supervisor to TD, and a player or ref came to me looking for a ruling.

Clarifying and confirming my understanding of the situation: the contact with the 1-ball is accidental.

Ruling: Foul. 1-ball remains pocketed. BIH to offended player.

Reasoning: There is no room for doubt in BCAPL play. I simply go to BCAPL Applied Ruling 1.33, Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only):

"General Discussion: “Outcome of the shot” is considered to only mean the action of the balls on the table as a result of the immediate shot, and has no relation to the ending position of the table or any effect the ending position may have on the desires, strategy or intentions of the offended player.

The effect of the above statement is that, while extremely rare, it is possible that a foul may be committed under Rule 1.33.4 that results in the offended player being left in an undesirable position. While considering the effects of the rule, the BCAPL decided that the possibility of such an event was outweighed by the offended player (in most games) having ball in hand and the strategic advantages that are inherent with it.

If it can be determined that an offending player deliberately created a situation that was detrimental to the offended player by abusing the provisions of Rule 1.33.4, it may be considered to be unsportsmanlike conduct and the offended player may be awarded a remedy to counteract the offense."


That pretty much ends the discussion in BCAPL play.

Now – I could be cavalier enough to just make that statement and run. And in a tournament setting, that is exactly what I would do, since there is rarely time in a tournament setting to carry on a protracted discussion as to the reasons why any given rule was written the way that it was. (Even if there were time, it would be ridiculous for a referee or administrator to do so since, right or wrong, to do so accomplishes nothing but to undermine the position of authority.) No, during a tournament the expectation should be that the referees and administration have a set of rules to go by and that they will be followed. It would certainly be nice if the players had access to that information as well. Nice thing about BCAPL play – they do.

However, in this forum I occasionally have enough time to discuss those reasons and, I hope, enlighten the reader as to how the BCAPL rules ended up the way they are. So here we go…

There was considerable discussion when the BCAPL decided to limit the ruling of "accidental movement" (what we call "disturbed balls" under BCAPL Rule 1.33) to a single ball. Under the BCAPL rules, if more than one ball is involved it is automatically a foul. No discussion, no interpretation, no judgment, no nothin'. Foul. Period. In the end, the reasoning was actually simple (and anyone who has ever refereed extensively will appreciate it). After a ball has been disturbed, it is hard enough to decide where a single ball should be restored. The BCAPL simply decided that it was not going to try to decide where more than one ball should be.

Now consider another facet to the discussion. By rule, it is a foul when a disturbed ball contacts a ball set in motion as a result of the shot, or when a ball set in motion as a result of the shot passes through the area originally occupied by the disturbed ball. Under cue ball fouls only, it has been like that forever. But did you ever stop to consider why?

The reason is simple, though often overlooked. It is because, once the ball is disturbed, we have no way of knowing what would have happened if it had not been disturbed. There is absolutely no way to accurately predict, assume, extrapolate, deduce or calculate what would have actually happened. Therefore, we call a foul. Moreover, once we call the foul there is no restoration. How can you restore what you did not know to begin with??

The key point is that there is no way to know what would have happened. And that becomes the real crux of the matter, relevant to the situation at hand: absent of UC, you cannot penalize a player based on what might have happened. As soon as you do that, you have opened the door to a never-ending parade of "what if", which there is absolutely no way to regulate consistently from ref to ref, game to game, match to match and venue to venue.

It is easy for the offended player to say, "THIS would have happened", but you don't really know. You just don't! You can scream, reason, calmly aver, or do whatever you want to, but you just don't know. It's easy to prove to yourself. Just ask yourself how many times you have watched the beginning of a shot and thought to yourself "THIS" will happen. Then it doesn't. And the first thing you think (or say to your teammate) is "I sure thought THIS would happen", or some version thereof. If any person reads this and denies that has happened to them, they are living in some other universe.

Another aspect to consider: as I stated in a different thread earlier, it is human nature for players – especially offended players – to want to attach extra significance to events that happen in an end-game situation or when they only have the game-winning ball left. However, that is flawed logic and, under the BCAPL's rules, is not defensible. Given the shot under consideration: if it had happened on the second shot of the game when there were ten other balls on the table, no one would be arguing for loss of game. They would just take BIH and go their merry way. But you can't, in good conscience, apply a rule one way at one time during the game, and then apply it a different way eight shots later, just because of the lay of the table.

Finally - the level of play is irrelevant. If it is a BCAPL event, it doesn't matter if it is two rank amateurs or SVB vs Archer. The rules will be applied exactly the same way.

If you steadfastly disagree with anything in this post, I cannot help you, and you and the BCAPL will just have to agree to disagree. If you have a different point of view then believe me - your side of the story has already received due consideration at some point during three years of discussions. I am not arguing personal opinion here. I am just stating the way the BCAPL rules are and trying to offer a little insight as to how they got that way.

I hope this has helped. At least when you play a BCAPL event, you know exactly what the ruling will be.

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee (WOW!! very humbled to be promoted :grin: )
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rul...2/Default.aspx

* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.4.3 and 9.4.4 apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* There is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules". The BCA does not edit nor is responsible for the content of the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* Since 2004, there is no such thing as a "BCA Referee". The BCA no longer has any program to train, certify or sanction billiards referees or officials.
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
 
Last edited:
1.33.1 & 2 Should answer your question. I'm not sure who "OP" is.

for clarification, what the OP did interfered with the outcome of the shot and thus is a foul and BIH.

edit: whoa i didn't realize this thread had 2 other pages and the post above me clarifies.
 
i definitely think it should be BIH. if the opponent has to shoot from where the cue ball came to rest then u can see how ppl can take advantage of that. like if i shoot the 1 ball and miss, leaving a possible shot on the one but in a position where i am safe behind a few other balls from the 2 ball, then i can just knock in the 1 ball. i would get warned but now my opponent has to shoot the 2 ball while being trapped behind the cluster of balls. so i definitely think BIH is needed here since a simple warning can be taken advantage of. obviously most ppl wouldnt do this but u gotta know that someone will take advantage of such a rule. i think the cue ball foul only rule was invented cuz they didnt have enough refs to monitor every match in a tourny so to avoid disputes the cue ball foul rule was made. it's intention is also for minor moving of object balls, like if u brush it a little or move it a little out of place then your opponent can move it back or leave it. it was not intended for situations where u whack an object ball into a pocket lol.
 
Last edited:
um...unless i am not understanding

if you interfere with a ball in motion.....it is a foul and possibly a forfeit of the rack.

If you move a ball on accident during a stroke and the ball does not contact any ball in motion nor would it have contacted a ball in motion had it not been moved, then there is no foul. The non-shooting player has the option of leaving the balls as they lay, or returning the balls to their original layout. This would include accidentally pocketed balls.

If you move a ball accidentally and the ball interferes with another ball in motion or it would have interfered had it not been moved, it is a foul.

correct interpretation
 
Back
Top