For you, Masayoshi
Read please, Thank you.
The rules:
6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#6.7
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#8.4
27. Calling Frozen Balls
The referee should be careful to inspect and announce the status of any object ball that might be frozen to a cushion and the cue ball when it might be frozen to a ball. The seated player may remind the referee that such a call is necessary. The shooter must allow time for such a determination to be asked for and made, and may ask for the call himself.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...tic_content#27
Rule 8.4 fourth sentence in
"A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent."
There is the rule that breaks you heart!
If it's not declared frozen then it's assumed not
(meaning it is not) frozen.
It can't be stated much more simply, for you than that. The part that bothers you is that even though you don't like the rule it's still the rule, so get over it.