I know that when I am playing, and I have an unobvious shot, not only do I make sure that I call the ball and intended pocket, but I look to see if my opponent has heard it...and they usually indicate with a nod. If I get no response, I will repeat it again, and then proceed with my shot.
I am one of those insanely honest players that will not only call my own fouls, but will let my opponent know if they have BIH or not. I know it is not my responsibility to do this, because my opponent should be paying attention...but if it is noisy, I consider it good sportsmanship to do so.
As to whether or not he truly intended the shot he claims...I'm not buying it. First, the combo would have left him the necessary shape to get to the up-table balls...his shape following the alledged shot was that he was pretty much hooked. Secondly, playing the 10 off the 13, into the bottom rail, (13 is still rolling towards the pocket), and then luckily play it off the 13 again into the corner pocket seems a bit of a stretch. The 13 appeared as if it was on track to the corner pocket, until the 10 knocked it over towards the side rail near the corner pocket. It looked more like a mis-shot combo than anything else. Irregardless, he never called his intended ball or pocket, making the shot a foul. That really is the bottom line here.
I will mention, that this was his 2nd shot of his first inning at the table, if that makes a difference...although it shouldn't. And I guess that if my expecting my opponents to adhere to the same rules of play as I have to makes me a whiney little b*tch, well then, so be it...what's fair is fair.
I have to say that with all the 'loose' interpretation of the rules I have seen, it is no wonder that you can't seem to get pool players to agree on anything!!
Lisa