That is not correct. It is not a foul, the shooter simply loses their turn. The shot you refer to, diagrammed in Figure 10-1 of the CSI Applied Ruling for "Combination Shot", is included in the applied rulings specifically to demonstrate two things:
* First, that the called ball might not be the first ball to enter the called pocket, and
* Second, that the shot meets the definition of a "Combination Shot" under the rules, and therefore must be overtly called and can never, per the CSI rules, be considered "obvious".
The verbiage you provide is neither complete nor accurate, and is therefore a little misleading. The complete verbiage, quoted verbatim from CSI Applied Ruling 1-45 Situation 2, follows:
"During a match, Player A asks Player B if it is legal to use a certain cue or piece of equipment. Player B, knowing that the cue or equipment is illegal and that it would be a foul to use it: (a) remains silent or responds "I don't know"; (b) gives a response that specifically or implicitly gives Player A permission to use the cue or leads Player A to believe that the cue is legal. Player A uses the cue to execute a shot.
Ruling: (a) foul on Player A; (b) unsportsmanlike conduct by Player B with loss of game for the first violation.
Discussion: Players are not required to assist their opponents in any way. In (a), Player A proceeds at their own peril, and should consult a referee if they desire further information. In (b), it is willful unsportsmanlike conduct for Player B to trap Player A into a foul."
(a) and (b) are completely separate situations.
In (a), Player B has no culpability , but also is not required to educate Player A as to the rules concerning the equipment.
In (b), the description is intended to illustrate that Player B, knowing full well that the cue is illegal, intentionally leads Player A to believe that it is legal and, per the effect of the Applied Ruling, gives Player A permission to use the illegal equipment.
The wording could be improved slightly - my bad for some inadequate writing. In (a), there is a presumption that Player B calls a foul after the shot, or a referee is there to witness the shot and call a foul. In (b) the intent of the rule assumes that Player B calls a foul on Player A after telling them that the equipment is OK. However, in the event that Player B did not call a foul or no referee called a foul for the use of illegal equipment, there would be no penalty for Player B under the rule.
The Situation under the applied ruling was created because of that specific sequence of events occurring at BCAPL Nationals several years ago.
Buddy