Worst rule I've ever heard of

I played in a lot of Hispanic bars where its last pocket, even in Puerto Rico and never heard of this rule before. Must be a special house rule or something.
 
Unfortunately, I have not just heard of this rule, but had to suffer under it for years. In the Virgin Islands and elsewhere in the Caribbean that I know of, the traditional rules of eight-ball, including last pocket, were that if the opponent's ball fell first it was a loss of inning. Thus, if it occurred when making the eight it was a loss of game. Thankfully, we've led the players here out of the dark ages and anyone who is into the game now plays BCA rules.

BTW, in last pocket, as we play it, if you make the opponent's last ball (without, of course, making the eight), s/he gets to choose a pocket.
Where i played if you sank his/her last ball by accident there last pocket was where that ball was made. If they made it in your pocket you get to pick there last pocket. Different Island different rules lol.
 
Well, how about this one (from an actual league I play in with around 1500 players total):

- If you have ball in hand it is illegal to place the cueball where it is touching a rail.

Or, from the same league, please note this is an 8-ball league where it is legal to play
rail first onto any ball (doesn't have to be from your group) can be the 8 aswell.

- If you play the cueball rail first into an objectball that is touching a rail and that ball is
from your own group (say solids) then it is a legal shot, nothing else has to happen.
But if it's a ball from your opponents group then you have to hit another rail after hitting the objectball.

Both of these make 0 sense to me.

gr. Dave

Sounds like Dutch 6 foot blackball. Played it for three years out of the Royal Pub in Brunssum.

I don't think anyone here believes me when I refer to playing with 8 cm (3.25 in) corner pockets on a 6 foot table. Small world huh?
 
In brooklyn, my friends from south america play this way. Their ball accidentally falling first equals loss of inning, or if you are on the eight, loss of game. Yes, even if you make your ball into the correct pocket. I think it is a lousy bar rule, but hey, it's not the only one. Sorry for your loss of $500, but with your attitude of just leaving, you won.
 
Back
Top