Whether or not the player did it intentionally is impossible to debate.
True enough, but in this case it doesn't matter much, because he would lose the game either way. If he didn't do it intentionally then it's just a foul. But in this instance, since he pocketed the 8 Ball, that fould makes it a loss. If he did it intentionally it would be unsportsmanlike conduct and he should lose the game, maybe more.
I just would be leery of ruling to take a game away from someone in a case where the foul, if it had been committed in the middle of the game rather than at the end, would not have resulted in BIH, or even loss of turn. If, however, it was a foul that would have resulted in BIH (or at least loss of turn), then I could understand the loss of game argument. At the very least, I would support Spidey's suggestion of replacing the balls and having him shoot the shot over.
But his action was a foul, and a foul would have resulted in BIH any other time. Many players, myself included, would overlook this in just for fun games, though I'd mention it for educational purposes. But in a tournament or league game why would you?
I could live with giving this player another shot at the 8 after the balls were replaced, if it was my choice to make, but I'd be resentful of a ref who gave my game away because he didn't know the rules.
I certainly don't condone applying rules in a way that encourages cheating, but I guess I just didn't see it as the game being over because of the foul. My reading comprehension is highly suspect at times, but it sounded to me like the guy was in his final stroke and caught the OB on the backswing (OP doesn't say if it was his hand or his cue that nudged the ball). If anything, I would have expected that to disrupt the shot and make it even harder to pocket the ball. Now, if he had moved the ball on a practice stroke, took a couple more practice strokes, then fired in the 8, I could certainly get behind a loss of game argument, because he clearly made the shot easier by moving the obstruction. But as it was described, it sounds similar to a situation where a player is bridging with his hand very close to an OB and happens to touch the OB on his final stroke. In that case, the foul is not one that would have resulted in BIH (at least, as I understand "cue ball fouls only" rules), so I don't see how it could result in loss of game?
I didn't mean to imply that you did condone this behavior, I was just using it to help explain why that interpretation of the rules was problematic. Sorry if I caused any unintended offense.
I agree with you that it read like the 1 ball was moved on the last backswing before hitting the ball. But what difference does that make? He moved an object ball but NOT while shooting forward toward the cueball. He is required to stop, tell you, and ask what you want to do, leave it as is or move it back. Since he didn't do that, it's a foul. Since he
sunk the 8 Ball it's a loss. If he had missed the 8 Ball it would be BIH (BCA rules at least I don't know about APA).
From the VCA website - from the World Standardized Rules - General Rules of Play:
1.16.1 CUE BALL FOULS ONLY
When a referee is presiding over a match, it is a foul for a player to touch any ball (cue ball or object ball) with the cue, clothing, body, mechanical bridge or chalk, before, during or after a shot. However, when a referee is not presiding over a game, it is not a foul to accidentally touch stationary balls located between the cue ball and the shooter while in the act of shooting. If such an accident occurs, the player should allow the Tournament Director to restore the object balls to their correct positions. If the player does not allow such a restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul.
In short, if the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the Tournament Director must be called upon to restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the Tournament Director has restored any accidentally moved balls. At the non-shooting player’s option, the disturbed balls will be left in their new positions. In this case, the balls are considered restored, and subsequent contact on them is not a foul. It is still a foul to make any contact with the cue ball whatsoever while it is in play, except for the normal tip-to-ball contact during a shot.
I guess without being there and seeing it firsthand, though, it would be hard to judge if it was intentional or not. I'd be interested to hear how a TD would handle such a situation. I'd hate to have to make that call myself; taking a game away from someone for a foul that would normally not even have resulted in loss of turn is pretty harsh, IMO.
I must admit that I'm a bit biased on this topic anyway, however, as I've never agreed with the rule that a foul on the 8-ball is loss of game. Seems too harsh a penalty when most people are playing BIH rules at 8-ball anyway.
As always, JMHO,
Aaron
Since he pocketed the 8 Ball and fouled it's a loss. If he had not pocketed the 8 ball it would be BIH. If he had done this attempting to shoot any other ball besides the 8 Ball, it would have still been a foul and you'd get BIH.
This is from the
World Standardized Rules of 8 Ball from the BCA website:
4.20 LOSS OF GAME
A player loses the game by committing any of the following infractions:
- Fouls when pocketing the 8-ball (exception: see 8-Ball Pocketed On The Break).
- Pockets the 8-ball on the same stroke as the last of his group of balls.
- Jumps the 8-ball off the table at any time.
- Pockets the 8-ball in a pocket other than the one designated.
- Pockets the 8-ball when it is not the legal object ball.