Stupid boredom rule question

Hierovision

Dios mio, man.
Silver Member
The other miscue thread inspired me to ask this one. I think I know but it's a little too close for me to be sure.

Let's say you're in a call pocket game (call ball, call pocket). 10-ball, 8-ball, straight pool, whatever.

One of the players ends up with a dead combo so they call the ball and pocket. They want to draw back for another ball on the other end of the table, so they wind up for some big draw and miscue! Right over the intended object ball and into the called ball, which rolls in the called pocket.

Foul or not?
 
The other miscue thread inspired me to ask this one. I think I know but it's a little too close for me to be sure.

Let's say you're in a call pocket game (call ball, call pocket). 10-ball, 8-ball, straight pool, whatever.

One of the players ends up with a dead combo so they call the ball and pocket. They want to draw back for another ball on the other end of the table, so they wind up for some big draw and miscue! Right over the intended object ball and into the called ball, which rolls in the called pocket.

Foul or not?

Not a foul
 
The other miscue thread inspired me to ask this one. I think I know but it's a little too close for me to be sure.

Let's say you're in a call pocket game (call ball, call pocket). 10-ball, 8-ball, straight pool, whatever.

One of the players ends up with a dead combo so they call the ball and pocket. They want to draw back for another ball on the other end of the table, so they wind up for some big draw and miscue! Right over the intended object ball and into the called ball, which rolls in the called pocket.

Foul or not?

To me, this is a foul.
 
An accidental scoop is considered a miscue. A miscue is not considered to be a foul...unless it is absolutely obvious that it was intentional. An intentional scoop, intended to jump a ball is a foul. I think the key word is accidental in these rules. If you can't prove that the guy was trying to miscue or jump (and we all want to know how you prove that), it is not considered a foul.

I'd say in this situation, there was no foul comitted.

L8R...Ken
 
Ball counts. The scoop would be a foul only if intended.

Not to be nit-picky, but the ball does not necessarily count. Here is a quote from the OP's post:

"Let's say you're in a call pocket game (call ball, call pocket). 10-ball, 8-ball, straight pool, whatever."

Okay, if the game was a rotation game, then a foul was commited. If the intention was to shoot the combination, then the ball that was jumped over was the lowest numbered ball on the table, and so a foul was committed when it wasn't struck first.

In any game other than a rotation game, this shot would/should count, IMO.

Maniac
 
Last edited:
Copy that. I thought that it would NOT be a foul according to current rules, but IMO it should be. It's so completely unintentional that if I did this, I would give BIH to my opponent.

Of course this would only happen with lower level players for the most part. I still do this on occasion. Gotta perfect the stroke!
 
Of course this would only happen with lower level players for the most part. I still do this on occasion. Gotta perfect the stroke!

I can count on TWO hands how many times this has happened to me over the course of four years of league play: I want maximum draw for length-of-table position on a straight in shot. I stroke the shot badly and not only jump the cue ball, but I jump it into a corner pocket. Ever done that???

Maniac
 
If you have a copy of the Dec 2009 Billiards Digest check page 27, close to the same situation.
Unintentional miscue "scoop" shot not a foul.
 
Back
Top