Calling the double hit foul (close CB to OB) in the APA

There is no rule for double hits in the APA when the two balls are real close together. If the cue ball and object ball are a foot from each other than I think thats a different story.

Is there a rule that says double hits on close shots are legal? Because if there isn't, then the double hit rule should apply regardless of distance between CB and OB...
This explanation just doesn't hold weight with me...
 
And that's why APA sucks ......

NOBODY has a damn clue about anything (rules or bylaws included) ...

When you ask for a hit to be watched, you expect the player shooting to wait for someone to get up to watch ... in most cases in my area they shoot immediately so the shot can't be watched by someone who you would think was proficient enough to know how to call it. You can tell by the sound of a double hit that it was a double hit. And yet these higher SL players when they are watching a hit, blindly walk away after the hit and say "GOOD HIT" which was a blatant foul.

THAT'S WHY APA SUCKS ... BUT UNFORTUNATELY IN SO MANY AREAS IT'S THE ONLY GAME IN TOWN ....

besides ... it's for fun .... and most everyone has had two or three to many to even shoot ...

Yeah, I definitely feel those frustrations... My biggest gripe is with the higher ranked players who know better and play willfully ignorant to their own benefit... It seems like those captains always have SL4's on their team that can amazingly break and run in important situations too...
 
there is not a double hit rule. all the apa ask's is you jack up to appox 45 deg to shoot .
after all it is a AMATURE league
 
In most APA threads, one of the biggest complaints is about the "rules lawyers".....:rolleyes:

It's a difficult foul to see, let alone explain to beginners. And you want to complain about "rules lawyers" on this one?

(Yes, the experienced players that should know better and do it anyway are loathsome, but really, does it happen that often? With the better players, I mean... Not around here. Perhaps everywhere else, I suppose, where there are nothing but drunks and sandbaggers running wild throughout the countryside, figuratively raping and pillaging the pool landscape. Sheesh.)
 
In most APA threads, one of the biggest complaints is about the "rules lawyers".....:rolleyes:

It's a difficult foul to see, let alone explain to beginners. And you want to complain about "rules lawyers" on this one?

(Yes, the experienced players that should know better and do it anyway are loathsome, but really, does it happen that often? With the better players, I mean... Not around here. Perhaps everywhere else, I suppose, where there are nothing but drunks and sandbaggers running wild throughout the countryside, figuratively raping and pillaging the pool landscape. Sheesh.)

Dude, let it go, you know what opinions are like...
 
Honestly, this is one of those things where you either have to put up a bigger fight than what its worth, or you can just accept that it is going to happen and play. We have the 45 degree rule here and it is worthless.

Most of your higher skill players are going to know good from bad when it comes to the hit.

Plus, realistically, if you are playing someone that doesn't know or understand this rule and doesn't get it after an explanation, you should probably beat them anyways.

And we call them 'Rule book Nazis' here Dub. :p (The people that have their noses buried in the rule book before the match starts and it stays there until the match is over.)
 
its not a foul that is called here in south florida. The rule in South florida apa is that if the balls arent froze, as long as the player elevates there is no foul.

w/e

once you know it you can just use the fact it wont be called to your advantage. I actually was sitting at my house practicing the push through to try to gauge where balls go so I can then use it myself and coach my teams to use it.
 
Not a double hit rule? Then what is this:?
"A foul may be called
only if the player fouls while actually stroking at the cue
ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball"

Pretty sure that means you aren't allowed to have the tip touch the cue ball twice when stroking your shot unless I'm completely illiterate...

If there's no double hit rule, then if I see the cue ball traveling towards the OB, but I know it's not going to hit it hard enough to make a rail I should then legally be able to hit the cue ball again while it's moving to give it extra velocity to help give myself a good hit...
 
Last edited:
In most APA threads, one of the biggest complaints is about the "rules lawyers".....:rolleyes:

It's a difficult foul to see, let alone explain to beginners. And you want to complain about "rules lawyers" on this one?

(Yes, the experienced players that should know better and do it anyway are loathsome, but really, does it happen that often? With the better players, I mean... Not around here. Perhaps everywhere else, I suppose, where there are nothing but drunks and sandbaggers running wild throughout the countryside, figuratively raping and pillaging the pool landscape. Sheesh.)

................
 
Last edited:
they dont call it bc its a source of the biggest arguments in league next to sandbagging. The rule I believe is done this way to prevent arguments even though all the good players see the push coming and just wince. what can you do...u just roll with it and make the best of it.
 
A good captain can coach their team on these hits. The SL2 and SL3 on my team knows this shot and they won't take it because they know of the illegality of it.
I do just smile and take it, but I'll often go talk with the other captain about

We wiped this shot out of our league in Hoboken, NJ by educating people and having enough knowledgeable people around to back up the person calling out the foul. The league operator backing us up on this was very helpful too. I think a lot of the culture of the league has to do with the league operator...
 
And that's why APA sucks ......

NOBODY has a damn clue about anything (rules or bylaws included) ...

When you ask for a hit to be watched, you expect the player shooting to wait for someone to get up to watch ... in most cases in my area they shoot immediately so the shot can't be watched by someone who you would think was proficient enough to know how to call it. You can tell by the sound of a double hit that it was a double hit. And yet these higher SL players when they are watching a hit, blindly walk away after the hit and say "GOOD HIT" which was a blatant foul.

THAT'S WHY APA SUCKS ... BUT UNFORTUNATELY IN SO MANY AREAS IT'S THE ONLY GAME IN TOWN ....

besides ... it's for fun .... and most everyone has had two or three to many to even shoot ...



APA defines a double hit as being a foul. Sorry this has nothing to do with APA. A bad call can be made in any league/tournament. It is dependant on the person watching and there knowledge of the physics behind a double hit.
 
there is not a double hit rule. all the apa ask's is you jack up to appox 45 deg to shoot .
after all it is a AMATURE league



Read the rules. This is from the manual:

Causing even the slightest movement or altering the course of the cue
ball, even accidentally, is a foul.
 
I'm okay with the "it's an amateur league, you just have to smile and take it" approach. But stating that double hits in the APA are legal is inaccurate.
 
The best way to teach someone that they are double hitting is to load up their tip with a ton of chalk, have them use a striped ball with no chalk marks on it as the cue ball then show them the two chalk marks on the striped ball after they shoot. Then show them how when you shoot it jacked up there is only one chalk mark.
 
... Then show them how when you shoot it jacked up there is only one chalk mark.
Sometimes that works, but it is still easy to foul when you are jacked up. Or shooting at a 45-degree angle.
 
We had a situation last night where the shooter shot the CB directly into a frozen ball (perpendicular full on hit) and claimed a double kiss due to follow. From my understanding a frozen ball has to hit a different rail regardless to count towards a legal hit. Is it even possible to strike a frozen ball head-on and double kiss it back into the same rail?
 
We had a situation last night where the shooter shot the CB directly into a frozen ball (perpendicular full on hit) and claimed a double kiss due to follow. From my understanding a frozen ball has to hit a different rail regardless to count towards a legal hit. Is it even possible to strike a frozen ball head-on and double kiss it back into the same rail?

I saw a league player try to make that same claim and got shot down when the ref came over.
 
Sometimes that works, but it is still easy to foul when you are jacked up. Or shooting at a 45-degree angle.

Exactly. Then you can show them that even when they are jacking up they are fouling using the chalk marks.
 
As someone previously mentioned, most BCA players recognize the double hit foul whereas 80% of APA leaguers do not. Why is that? Simple…

The BCA includes a specific rule for judging double hits in absence of a referee. APA has no such rule.

If the cue and object ball are less than the width of one chalk cube apart, it will be considered a foul if the shooter shoots straight through the cue ball-OB combo AND the cue ball passes beyond the point at which the OB previously sat on the table.

Incidentally, Dr Dave and Bob Jewett do an excellent job explaining these shots in beautiful high-speed and slow mo video. Getting other boneheaded leaguers to watch the vid is another story.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Back
Top