10-Ball fouls ruling question (need exact reference)

Vahmurka

...and I get all da rolls
Silver Member
There was an interesting situation during one of the local tournaments. It is as follows: guy A. is on two fouls, then guy B. pockets a ball in wrong pocket and snookers the next. So incoming guy A. - who is on two - comes to the table and after examining the position passes the shot to his opponent. The question: is guy A. still on two fouls at his next visit to the table? Or they did "expire" since there was a visit and "pass of control"?
We failed to find anything in the text of the rules. Anyone?
 
WPA RULES

6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls
If a player fouls three times without making an intervening legal shot, it is a serious foul. In games scored by the rack, such as nine ball, the fouls must be in a single rack. Some games such as eight ball do not include this rule.
The referee must warn a shooter who is on two fouls when he comes to the table that he is on two fouls. Otherwise a possible third foul will be considered to be only the second.
pj
chgo
......
 
Last edited:
Guy A cannot 'pass the table over' to guy B, without making either a legal shot or a foul.

Win for guy B. Woohoo.
 
In some 10-ball events where you call all shots, if you miss or luck a ball in the wrong pocket the incoming player can give it back to you.
 
There was an interesting situation during one of the local tournaments. It is as follows: guy A. is on two fouls, then guy B. pockets a ball in wrong pocket and snookers the next. So incoming guy A. - who is on two - comes to the table and after examining the position passes the shot to his opponent. The question: is guy A. still on two fouls at his next visit to the table? Or they did "expire" since there was a visit and "pass of control"?
We failed to find anything in the text of the rules. Anyone?
Thats why they (WPA) must call safeties too...
 
Guy A cannot 'pass the table over' to guy B, without making either a legal shot or a foul.
I "don't see no reason" for it. According to what PJ quoted (and that corresponds with my approach I explained at the tourney) player A is still on two on his next visit to the table. But I don't see what denies him from passing the table in a no-shot situation afetr a fluke pocketed.
 
I "don't see no reason" for it. According to what PJ quoted (and that corresponds with my approach I explained at the tourney) player A is still on two on his next visit to the table. But I don't see what denies him from passing the table in a no-shot situation afetr a fluke pocketed.

How about A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A;A pass to B; B pass to A?

Surely you can 'see' you don't want to get in that game?!:eek:
 
Guy A cannot 'pass the table over' to guy B, without making either a legal shot or a foul.
WPA 10 Ball Rules

9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.

pj
chgo
......
 
Last edited:
There was an interesting situation during one of the local tournaments. It is as follows: guy A. is on two fouls, then guy B. pockets a ball in wrong pocket and snookers the next. So incoming guy A. - who is on two - comes to the table and after examining the position passes the shot to his opponent. The question: is guy A. still on two fouls at his next visit to the table? Or they did "expire" since there was a visit and "pass of control"?
We failed to find anything in the text of the rules. Anyone?

Yes, guy A is still on 2 fouls. He must actually play the shot to clear fouls. :thumbup:
 
yes, thanks. Like pointed, WPA Three consecutive fouls rule 6.14 clarifies this clearly.
At the tournament, having overlooked that rule, I subconsciously said that a shot is required to get the fouls cleared, and a visit to the table with no shot taken but a pass of control to opponent can not be considered as such.

Case closed :cool:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top