What's the secret of the grip

ENGLISH!

Banned
Silver Member
I what you say is true, then pro players would very often change how they grip during the match. But that's not what we see.
Can you name any top players who often alter their grip configuration and/or firmness depending on certain shots? From watching literary thousands of hours of many matches I certainly can't say that I've ever noticed anything like that.

No I can not name any top players that I specifically know that do that but do you really expect to SEE a difference is one's grip pressure on a video?

CJ Wiley has stated that he uses a firm grip. Before I started employing TOI, I had & for the most part still have a rather loose connection to the cue. I sometimes even shoot a foward 'slip stroke' on certain shots. However when employing the TOI method my grip frims up considerably.

So, perhaps I should have said that I am not a professional but I change my grip for the execution of shots depending on the circumstance & what type of shooting style I intend to employ.

Regards,

Last edited:

scottjen26

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I think how you grip the cue is a personal thing, and as Fran and others said one might learn or utilize a certain style of grip based on how you were taught, the game you play most often, etc.