Calling a Safety Shot

latinobori4u

New member
I'm currently working in Afghanistan and we are having Pool tournaments here, following BCA rules. Now in terms of calling a Safety everything is clear but one thing and is the following:

- (BCA - 8 Ball) When you call a safety and hit your group of ball (either a stripe or a solid) after you make contact does anything has to hit rail after contact or as long as you hit the object ball after calling a safety will do?

- The reason why I'm asking is because after guys here call a safety they are saying that after contact the any ball after contact must hit a rail...if so why? cause it defeats the purpose of calling a safety...is just like a Push on 9 Ball...

Thanks
 
- (BCA - 8 Ball) When you call a safety and hit your group of ball (either a stripe or a solid) after you make contact does anything has to hit rail after contact
Yes a(any) ball
or as long as you hit the object ball after calling a safety will do?
No a ball must touch a rail AFTER legal contact or else it is a foul
- The reason why I'm asking is because after guys here call a safety they are saying that after contact the any ball after contact must hit a rail...
And they are correct
if so why?
So that if a ball drops in a pocket their opponent doesn't think they were playing that ball; and so that they don't get interrupted by their opponent asking them what they are playing.
cause it defeats the purpose of calling a safety...is just like a Push on 9 Ball...
Thanks
See above
 
When a Safety is called, a legal hit must still be made. That is - after CB contact with a legal ball, a ball must contact a rail or enter a pocket.

(Note: On a Safety declaration, the player's turn still ends even if his ball is pocketed.)

If there is no legal hit, incoming player gets CB in hand on the table.
 
Standardized Rules

I learned a lot from this

You can learn even more by simply downloading the World Standardized Rules from the Internet. The BCAPL rules are virtually identical. Same for the VNEA rules. Of course "bar rules" (that hold are a holdover from the middle of the last century), and the APA rules are dramatically different from the World Standardized Rules.
 
The break shot is always played as a safety shot as even from the break if a ball is going to be potted it would have to be named and a pocket nominated.
 
The reason why I'm asking is because after guys here call a safety they are saying that after contact
the any ball after contact must hit a rail...if so why? cause it defeats the purpose of calling a safety...is just like a Push on 9 Ball...

Thanks

ANY BALL after contact must hit a rail... your ball, the opponents ball, or the cueball.
 
The break shot is always played as a safety shot as even from the break if a ball is going to be potted it would have to be named and a pocket nominated.

Aside from the fact the thread is 1.5 years old, this is not correct.

The break is not a "safety shot" because if you pocket a ball it's still your turn. If you actually say "safe" while playing the break, if you make a ball, you give up your turn. I would think at least, I don't know of anyone that would call a safe on a break in 8 ball. I've seen people play a safe break in 9 ball where they just cut the 1 ball softly and try to send the cueball behind the stack.

From the term "potted" you are probably more familiar with snooker, where the opening break is a safety. In 8 ball, you don't just call a safety on the break.
 
I know this is a bit grey in the beard....

Yes a(any) ball

No a ball must touch a rail AFTER legal contact or else it is a foul

And they are correct

So that if a ball drops in a pocket their opponent doesn't think they were playing that ball; and so that they don't get interrupted by their opponent asking them what they are playing.

See above

Now if you are calling a "push"in 9 ball anything is possible,it does not hit a rail or anything is legal does NOT even have to hit a ball (any ball)
 
Back
Top