Best Pool Training Devices

nobcitypool

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've found two that have helped and wondered what other people's experience has been. I think the best, far and away, is the Break-Rak. No question, if you want to improve your break, you still have to break racks of balls. But there are a ton if things you can work on with the break-rak.

At a suggestion from Stevie Moore, I started practicing with the Pro billiard glove. I had a bad habit of slightly curling my wrist in near the end of my stroke. A couple of weeks of practicing with the glove has cured that and had a side benefit of helping me keep a loose and more consistent grip pressure. It was kind of a pain getting it on at first but now it takes about 20 seconds.

I think Joe Tuckers third eye (out whatever it is called) device that helps you hit CCB deserves honorable mention.

I've been beta testing the straight stroke trainer from Cue MD. It is a small electronic device that attaches to your cue. It has bluetooth built in that connects to a tablet or windows pc. It beeps an alarm if your stroke deviates from straight. It also plots a graphical representation of your stroke as viewed from above, the side and from the butt end so you can see where the deviation occurred. It plots the acceleration curve of your stroke too. There's still a few bugs, which can be expected with a beta device, but it appears to have excellent potential.

StraightPoolIU

Brent
Silver Member
I'll give a plug for Joe Tucker's 3rd Eye Stroke Trainer as well. My game has progressed a lot in the last year and a half and I owe it to the 3rd Eye along with Mark Wilson's book. Before I started using it I had an extremely hard time being accurate with draw and stop shots. A lot of practice with it has made it one of my strengths. I still use it for the occasional tune up and part of my stroke drill practice.

ddadams

Absolutely love this cue.
Silver Member
Mark where did you get the pro shot glove?