Do you let up against friends?

FranCrimi

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I let up against my friends a lot. Being social while still playing competitively is much more fun than turning into robot trying to destroy them. I know it hurts my game but the tradeoff of having a good time hanging out with my friends is worth it.

True friends will applaud your skill and will be proud of you. I bet they'd be fine with it if you gave them a spot. You don't have to play like a robot. In fact I try to never play like a robot, even when I'm in tough competition.

You work too hard at your game to train yourself to let up, and that's just what you're doing every time you do that.

supergreenman

truly addicted
Silver Member
I have this friend I've been playing pool with since I started playing. In a set to 10 I usually beat him about 10 to 5, without too much of an effort. Straightpool about 100 to 50. He's not a bad player really, and he works hard on his game. Every now and again he will win of course. He will not accept a spot, and he doesn't take losing too well either, he gets kind of down on himself. I try to cheer him up by pointing out that he played well etc. He has actually been improving a little bit lately.

Anyhow, having played him for a long time now, I know his weaknesses and strengths, and could really murder him if I wanted to, by playing a specific way. I usually go for the flashy runouts instead, often giving him a game or two extra as a result.

So to cut to the chase, finally, do you "play to kill" against such an opponent, or do you let up? I catch myself letting up a bit, and I'm afraid I might be doing him a disservice by doing so, but then again I don't want to bring him down either....

I never let up on friends, or beginners. You don't do them any favors when you let up on them. If they beat you, you want them to know they really beat you, that means more to them then someone patronizingly letting them win.

Kim Bye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member