What is the bca rule?

stickman161

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Our playoffs is the first team to reach 128 balls. 8 ball is the game.
Team 1 breaks needing one ball to get to 128.
He breaks makes a high ball and scratches.
team 2 takes a low ball needing 3 more to get to 128.
Argument started claiming that as soon as the team 2 chose the low balls it automatically put team 1 with the high balls at 128 balls and the match was over.
Team 2 claims that team 1 high ball would only count after team 1 finishes their inning.
Who's right??
Thanks
Stickman161
 
Our playoffs is the first team to reach 128 balls. 8 ball is the game.
Team 1 breaks needing one ball to get to 128.
He breaks makes a high ball and scratches.
team 2 takes a low ball needing 3 more to get to 128.
Argument started claiming that as soon as the team 2 chose the low balls it automatically put team 1 with the high balls at 128 balls and the match was over.
Team 2 claims that team 1 high ball would only count after team 1 finishes their inning.
Who's right??
Thanks
Stickman161
are you saying that if me team reaches 128, the ther actually has a chance to get to 128? How can that be possible?

I'll vote (because this isn't normal) that the other team wins.
 
Normally, the scores aren't tallied until the game is over. They're getting ahead of themselves.
 
Bcapl

Why would you get a point for a ball pocketed on a scratch, sounds odd to me.

It is odd.

BCAPL Rule 3.7
If the 8-ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break it will be spotted or the balls re-racked. No other object ball is ever spotted.

So the ball pocketed on the break is scored for the breaker as soon as his opponent legally makes one of the other group of object balls. The breaker's team wins the match although the game would still be completed to fill out the score sheet. (Since balls made are the basis for individual averages, all balls pocketed must be scored

I've always disagreed with this rule (though I do generally like the BCAPL rules), as I think a point should never be scored on a foul. Balls made when a foul occurs should be spotted IMO.
 
are you saying that if me team reaches 128, the ther actually has a chance to get to 128? How can that be possible?

I'll vote (because this isn't normal) that the other team wins.

I agree. Something doesn't seem right.

However, i do believe if the other team only needed one ball, his team did lose once his teammate made one from the other group.
 
When it comes to tournament play, ball count is ball count.

That's why you stop the match when it is mathematically impossible for a team to win.

In this case the high ball counts for team 1 when team 2 takes the solids - match over.
 
but but

17. ILLEGALLY POCKETED BALLS.
An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when (1) that object ball is pocketed on the same shot a foul is
committed, or (2) the called ball did not go in the designated pocket, or (3) a safety is called prior to the shot. Illegally
pocketed balls remain pocketed.
 
but but

17. ILLEGALLY POCKETED BALLS.
An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when (1) that object ball is pocketed on the same shot a foul is
committed, or (2) the called ball did not go in the designated pocket, or (3) a safety is called prior to the shot. Illegally
pocketed balls remain pocketed.

Does it say something about spotting balls made during a foul?
 
For those looking up BCA rules, the OP is talking about league rules, so it's their point count BCAPL league, not WPA rules.
 
Does it say something about spotting balls made during a foul?

Nope.

The other team chose the wrong balls. As soon as he made the other balls, the one single ball that was down from the break goes to the other team.

It matters NOT how it made it in, it's their ball now, the other team in affect gave them the ball, the game and the match.

First team to 128. They were at 128 one second after the other ball dropped. Game Over. Strategy is a good thing.
 
It sounds like Team 1 is the winner. Maybe you could expound on how the scoring system works.

In a team setting/scoring system like this, it's imperative that the players know what the 'ball count' is.

In our local BCA league, each ball is worth 1, the eight ball is worth 3. Five players play one game per round. If I break, make a solid, then shoot stripes and run out, the score is marked down as 10-1. 10 for my win, and you still get credit for the one I made on the break.

Many a night I've played, I might have to win and 'hold him' to X balls (meaning that if he makes X+1 then we lose the round, regardless of the outcome of the game). In the same token, if I'm playing and I'm the one needing X balls, depending on the stakes, I'll play one of your balls into one of my balls to make X.

Banks makes an interesting point in that the scores aren't tallied until the game is over. That said, if the shooter commits to the other group of balls, and runs out on solids, that stripe is still credited to the opponent.

Even if the shooter makes the three balls HE needs, the stripe still counts toward the opponent, especially once he committed to the other group (which begs the question, why didn't the shooter take stripes and get credit for the ball made on the break ?).

Again, if you could go into more detail about how the scoring system in your league works, you may get a clearer answer for your situation.

I'll ask this: How has it been scored in the past ?

For example, in regular season, in your league, when this has happened (meaning a player makes one or more of a group of balls on the break), and the shooter chooses the other group (and in theory runs out), does the non-shooter get credit for the ball made on the break ?

The answer to that should be the answer to your dilemma.
 
but but

17. ILLEGALLY POCKETED BALLS.
An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when (1) that object ball is pocketed on the same shot a foul is
committed, or (2) the called ball did not go in the designated pocket, or (3) a safety is called prior to the shot. Illegally
pocketed balls remain pocketed.

Interesting, and I have a hard time with the idea that one could win on a scratch. But in BCAPL Eight Ball play the penalty for an illegally pocketed ball is loss of turn, you don't either lose a point nor not get credit for the ball made. Say they were just playing a league game and the guy makes a stripe and scratches on the shot and the opponent runs out. The loser would still get one point for that ball he scratched on.

I assume we are talking about the pool league since the BCA adopted the WPA rules in their entirety.
 
Last edited:
Why would it happen? You have ball in hand. Take the stripes, already having one in, run out your three. Even if the stripes are sitting poorly you need to try them or lose


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Why would it happen? You have ball in hand. Take the stripes, already having one in, run out your three. Even if the stripes are sitting poorly you need to try them or lose ...
They would have gotten the point for the stripe that the breaker made while scratching?

I'd say a loss for complete failure to understand how the match is scored is appropriate.
 
It is odd.

BCAPL Rule 3.7
If the 8-ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break it will be spotted or the balls re-racked. No other object ball is ever spotted.

So the ball pocketed on the break is scored for the breaker as soon as his opponent legally makes one of the other group of object balls. The breaker's team wins the match although the game would still be completed to fill out the score sheet. (Since balls made are the basis for individual averages, all balls pocketed must be scored

I've always disagreed with this rule (though I do generally like the BCAPL rules), as I think a point should never be scored on a foul. Balls made when a foul occurs should be spotted IMO.

In our league we have 4 to a team. Each player plays each other so there could be 16 games played. Once a team reaches 128 balls the match is OVER. Remaining games do not need to be played.

Several members have voiced disagreement with all balls stay down even made when a foul has been committed. When u have an open table there,s no reason why you can't reach down in the tray and spot it back up including the break.You could legally use the other teams ball or the eight ball in a combo for the 128 ball and the win.
 
Back
Top