.............
Last edited:
I had a weird situation in 8 ball the other day. VNEA rules.
The player on the other team was on the 8 ball. I was stripes, still balls on the table. My opponent called a safety on the 8, no intention of pocketing it. He then had a change of his mind and marked the pocket with the patch. He made the 8 in the patched pocket. At no point did he ever undeclared a safety verbally to me.
Does he win or lose? Does marking the 8 with the patch with no verbal trump his safety call?
I had a weird situation in 8 ball the other day. VNEA rules.
The player on the other team was on the 8 ball. I was stripes, still balls on the table. My opponent called a safety on the 8, no intention of pocketing it. He then had a change of his mind and marked the pocket with the patch. He made the 8 in the patched pocket. At no point did he ever undeclared a safety verbally to me.
Does he win or lose? Does marking the 8 with the patch with no verbal trump his safety call?
We are both really good players. Our league uses the patch. What is stupid to me is you can put the patch at any pocket, bounce it around 4 rails and if it goes in there, it counts....and you called safety.
I never questioned to the player, never even mentioned it to the other player or talked about it. I was wondering for future reference if a safety call trumps the patch.
I am not that guy I'm a master player wanting to know a rule because if I go ref a match I know.
Ok thanks.