I got it from Facebook.
On the WPA website, in doing some research, it says this:
1.6 Standard Call Shot
In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.
For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.
Bottom line, again, referee makes the final decision.
Source: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.asp?id=116&pagetype=rules#1.6
Yes, but the other "official rule" you posted doesn't appear anywhere on official reference.
In this particular case the referee by fact is proved not to be able to have a 100% clear estimation, the TD took a final decision and that decision may be as well false besides been final.