Brunswick's GC with slate and BRUNSWICK

DMM4342

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
To interested Table Mechanics.
In your experience with Brunswick GC's and their playing surface :

were the 1-inch pieces always slate?
and
were the 1.25-inch pieces always BRUNSTONE?

Here is what Brunswick says about the two.

http://brunswick.pastperfectonline.com/library/29685370-7B87-4C10-830F-257455965183

But I want to hear from you, the Table Mechanics. Because, what Brunswick said they did could very well differ from what they actually did. In house secrets are just that; it is privileged information.

Best regards,
Dave

Last edited:

fastone371

Certifiable
Silver Member
Im not a table mechanic so I only know about my GCI. I can tell you its definitely Brunstone and it is definitely not 1 1/4" thick. I think its 1 1/8" if I remember correctly. The table is all original with all the original parts as delivered and set up from the local Brunswick dealer 2 owners ago in 1971 or 1972.
The link you posted is not working.

d_day

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm not sure I would trust the info from Brunswick. They can't seem to get their story straight in just this one document.

"Made in 3 piece sets, drilled to conform to Brunswick slate sets. 1 1/4" thick to achieve the same weight as a standard 1" thick slate set."

"Weight: Brunstone actually weighs more than slate. A set of 4 1/2 x 9' slate weighs 597 pounds, while Brunstone weighed in a 609 pounds. The added weight ensures your table will be even more solid and stable."

DMM4342

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm not sure I would trust the info from Brunswick. They can't seem to get their story straight in just this one document.

Some of Brunswick's advertisements, and public records lead me to believe the same as you do. I thank you for posting your comments about it.
Dave

tjohnson

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member