Can You Lose Your Amateur Status - Brian Parks

lorider

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Just an observation here, peeps. You guys don't seem to be applying a consistent standard when you say "Well, if he doesn't earn his LIVING at the game (omgwtffrothatthemouthlikearabiddog), then he's not a PRO!!!!!!"

Ahem...

Steve Mizerak was a school teacher and won multiple championships while his main vocation was a schoolteacher.

Irving Crane was a car salesman.

Harold "Boola" Worst was a shoe salesman by trade.

You guys would be out of your minds to say players of this caliber should be allowed in any amateur championship.

I rest my case.

Short Bus Russ

Another thing ..you mentioned guys from a while back.

Lets compare Brian with a modern day player who has a full time job. Donnie mills who is a car salesman. To me there is no comparison between the 2. Brian is definitely the amateur between the 2.

Who would your money be on ?

ShortBusRuss

Short Bus Russ - C Player
Silver Member
She brian parks achieves what they did I will agree that he is not an amateur.

Oh, I get it.... He has to win A CERTAIN AMOUNT of championships against world class talent, and then he won't be considered an amateur any more. Cuz he's won at least one.

How... arbitrary of you.

Short Bus Russ

ShortBusRuss

Short Bus Russ - C Player
Silver Member
Another thing ..you mentioned guys from a while back.

Lets compare Brian with a modern day player who has a full time job. Donnie mills who is a car salesman. To me there is no comparison between the 2. Brian is definitely the amateur between the 2.

Who would your money be on ?

And my money would have been on Harold Worst versus anyone else on the list.

And my money would be on Shane Van Boening over Corey Deuel in a long race, in pretty much any game. Yet, no one is lobbying for Corey to be considered an amateur.

There ARE different levels of pros, yah know..

So... What's your point?

Short Bus Russ

KurtMHodges

Registered