Ultimate Argument: Pendulum vs Piston Stroke

sbk510

Registered
I'm another one who would give you my two cents. I was a local instructor and I've won a few tournaments. Not big ones mind you. But I use the drill that I'm showing in the picture to make sure my cue is level on the backswing and the follow-through. Put your knuckles on the rail and drag them back and forth. That's level. I want my cue to come backwards and go forwards in the same plane and it doesn't matter what I do with my elbow. I've never hit one ball with my elbow.
8044c61ad57c58f254252d5df4b0e57c.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Bobkitty

I said: "Here kitty, kitty". Got this frown.
Gold Member
Silver Member
As far as SPF (Set-Pause-Finish) goes, the pause between the backstroke and forward stroke has a purpose. Let's consider the stroke from a kinesiological standpoint. First, when you pull the cue back and then send it forward, you are changing directions (better known as "transitioning"). When you transition from moving in one direction to moving in the opposite direction, there is a moment when backward motion has ceased and forward motion has not begun. It may be extremely small, but it exists, and that moment is "the pause". What SPF does is take control of this fact and make it a deliberate part of your stroke, which enhances your control and rhythm. And we are not talking a very long time here - a half a second is plenty. Pausing also aids with the point below...

Finally, most people don't have the training or knowledge to be able to self-evaluate their stroke, so the old idea of pulling yourself up by your bootstraps isn't particularly helpful. Spending some time with a qualified instructor can go a long way towards improving your game. I know some people don't agree, and I'm cool with that. At the end of the day, all an instructor can do is provide you with information - it's up to the student to act on it.