Has the Open Bridge Become More Popular

DieselPete

While players have always used open bridges sometimes, and some players used them a lot of the time (Sigel, as noted above, and others), I do feel that I see more top players using open bridges more often.

I have wondered if it is because so many top players are using carbon fiber/low deflection shafts and they don't feel a need to give the shaft the tighter control that they might with a shaft that deflects more.

chenjy9

I primarily use open bridge and typically only use closed bridge for situations where I feel like I need to secure the shaft more.

ctyhntr

RIP Kelly
Silver Member
Old man here trying to get back to the game after 50+ years. Watching YouTube videos I see many of the tournament players now using an open bridge. Is the open bridge increasing in popularity?
Thanks
Yes, when I started playing pool 35 years ago, closed bridge was the preferred and open bridge as stop gap. Now, it's the opposite.

You'll also notice rules have changed, along with the cloth and popular pool stances.

chenjy9

Yes, when I started playing pool 35 years ago, closed bridge was the preferred and open bridge as stop gap. Now, it's the opposite.

You'll also notice rules have changed, along with the cloth and popular pool stances.
Reminds me of ping pong. I grew up learning the penhold and now everyone uses the Shakehand grip.

Quesports

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In "Winning Pocket Billiards" (1965), Mosconi shows the V bridge only for bridging over balls. In "The 99 Critical Shots in Pool" (1977), Ray Martin says that the closed bridge is used for 80% of shots, with special situations such as over a ball the other 20%. I think pool has changed in the 40+ years since. It is more like 50-50 now. Carom is nearly all closed bridges and snooker is nearly all open bridges.