Aiming Based On CB Deflection

Brookeland Bill

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I tried and experimented with all of the so called aiming systems and decided to aim based on the deflection, or lack thereof, of the cue ball off the object ball.

Patrick Johnson

Fish of the Day
Silver Member
I tried and experimented with all of the so called aiming systems and decided to aim based on the deflection, or lack thereof, of the cue ball off the object ball.
Do you mean the carom angle (the direction the CB goes after contact with the OB)? How do you know what it will be before shooting?

pj
chgo

Brookeland Bill

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Do you mean the carom angle (the direction the CB goes after contact with the OB)? How do you know what it is before shooting?

pj
chgo
I’ve been playing for 60 years and started thinking what if I base my hit on the OB based upon deflection rather than trying to send the OB to the pocket based upon a finite aiming point on the OB. I find that trying to hit a specific point on the object ball is more difficult for me than trying to just cover the OB with the CB and determining the direction the CB will be traveling after the collision. Subconsciously I know where the pocket is in relation to the OB and I’ve become less pocket oriented. More collision oriented. May not be the best explanation.

Patrick Johnson

Fish of the Day
Silver Member
Do you mean the carom angle (the direction the CB goes after contact with the OB)?