Is this legal?

Is it considered jumping if the CB does not leave the table (any more so than when CB is used on a break shot and flies most of the distance between striking point and impact point) ??
you asking me or the BCA?, They wrote the rule, I just copied it here.
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
Would this not be hitting the cue ball below center?
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
This implies but doesn't completely define the <through the webbing> shot as illegal. There is no foreign or tangential contact as would occur with a miscue.
 
I think the 1st sentence about striking the cue ball below center pretty much says it all.
The nuthin but net shot will almost certainly be a center ball or close enough strike. Here's what's missing, there is no reference to horizontal in the rule. If the rule said something on the order of "striking the cue ball from below the table surface" then the nuthin' but net shot would be covered.
 
The nuthin but net shot will almost certainly be a center ball or close enough strike. Here's what's missing, there is no reference to horizontal in the rule. If the rule said something on the order of "striking the cue ball from below the table surface" then the nuthin' but net shot would be covered.
I think there are certain basic fundamentals about the word "horizontal" that you are struggling with, to make a point that don't really matter anyway I might add.
 
I think there are certain basic fundamentals about the word "horizontal" that you are struggling with, to make a point that don't really matter anyway I might add.
Using the word horizontal didn't take much effort. I must be a natural.
"Hitting below center" references a horizon. Further, hitting below center is in fact a requirement of pool as it is played. Once again, The nuthin but net shot, is probably best shot center ball, albeit upwards. There is no foul, technical or otherwise. The RULE must be interpreted (and quite loosely) if it is to include the nuthin but net shot.
 
Using the word horizontal didn't take much effort. I must be a natural.
"Hitting below center" references a horizon. Further, hitting below center is in fact a requirement of pool as it is played. Once again, The nuthin but net shot, is probably best shot center ball, albeit upwards. There is no foul, technical or otherwise. The RULE must be interpreted (and quite loosely) if it is to include the nuthin but net shot.
Maybe you didn't see this, can't get any clearer,,,,,,,

Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball.
 
Maybe you didn't see this, can't get any clearer,,,,,,,

Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball.
It’s a good shot at my house. Almost preferred at this point.
 
Maybe you didn't see this, can't get any clearer,,,,,,,

Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball.
Yea that's close but the nuthin but net shot doesn't dig the ball. And for all the fine work BCA has done, micromanaging obscure situations like this one is counterproductive. It's a skill that the equipment itself facilitates and no different than around the net ping pong, over the backboard hoops and obtuse behind the goal soccer goals. Incidentally, those three examples can result directly on the score board.

There are too many drones in sport as it is. Using a technical against this shot is a travesty against innovation. You know, that time before the rules guys figured everything there is to know about how to play?
 
I think the 1st sentence about striking the cue ball below center pretty much says it all.
Everybody has seen players do a jump shot and draw back for position..it was legal …and struck below center.
….what IS illegal is a ‘scoop shot’.
 
Well sin
View attachment 656188
Saw this shot this morning. 8 ball is in the jaws of the side pocket. Is it legal to go under the table like this and jump the ball?

You can't shoot a scoop shot to jump, this is like the ultimate scoop shot LOL

Also there is a rule against using equipment in non-intended ways, say for using a bridge to hold your hand up instead of the cue, etc... Since the pockets are there only to hold the balls when they fall off the playing surface using the pocket to shoot from would be using the equipment improperly. Neat idea though!
 
so you haven't actually read the rule then I suppose.
I had many different years of rule books…I think they were poorly done…needed a legal mindset to write them.
….so, no, I haven’t read a rule book for years.
I‘d like to see someone like Bob Jewitt take it on.
 
Everybody has seen players do a jump shot and draw back for position..it was legal …and struck below center.
….what IS illegal is a ‘scoop shot’.
This rule implies that "below center" is relative to the horizontal playing surface, since it states that the ball must be shot into it with an elevated cue. This isn't complicated.
 
I had many different years of rule books…I think they were poorly done…needed a legal mindset to write them.
….so, no, I haven’t read a rule book for years.
I‘d like to see someone like Bob Jewitt take it on.
goody! The BCA rule actually says the same thing regardless of who reads it.
 
I had many different years of rule books…I think they were poorly done…needed a legal mindset to write them.
….so, no, I haven’t read a rule book for years.
I‘d like to see someone like Bob Jewitt take it on.

Bob did and declared it legal. I disagree, definitely not using equipment as intended and as you have mentioned there is a length issue. That has to be just a shaft or an extremely short stick, under legal length.

While I think this shot is illegal under some of the more obscure regulations I would be willing to bet I could win either side of the argument at the pool hall!

Hu
 
Back
Top