Kaci got away with obvious foul in the WPM final?! (plus similar case Capito)

For me personally it's total clear.

If he touched the ball with his little finger he noticed it 100%, because we all know how much the fingers are sensitive. Even the slightest touch you will feel. -> Bad sportmanship from Kaci and not good for professional poolbillard.

If the little finger moved the cloth a little bit and the 8 ball moved because of that he had no chance to feel it.

The zoomed slo-mo is to fuzzy to show it exactly.
 
Out of curiosity, how many times do you think you guys have moved the cloth and that in turn moved a ball? Intellectually I can see the as possible. But my wisdom says I don’t think I’ve ever encountered it in my life. Would it be less likely in a tournament like this where the felt was professionally installed extremely recently? I feel like it would more likely be something possible on a table installed poorly or really overdue for new cloth. But others may have experiences to challenge that.
 
OK, I finally saw it. Someone switched the video on page 1...I swear it wasn't there before.
 
First of all I'm no Kaci hater, actually liked his style of play.
KPY got some juicy rolls after misses but played with all his heart throughout the tournament, could sense his hunger again like back in 2015.
Full credits to him and congrats on the really nice win, possibly the toughest WPM field so far, not one single easy match.

With all that being said, I'd like to discuss about player's integrity.
I understand why it happens, because everyone wants to win, different players may choose differently under the circumstance though, some would still call foul on themselves without hesitation.
But there are these batches that would stay silent if they sense they may get away with it?
What are the opinions about why it kept happening in pool, is it simply because pool doesn't pay enough?
Does it happen to other sports that pays extremly well often?

I saw a member or two discussed about it during the match, but no real discussion, this has already caused some significant hate towards Kaci from Kpy's huge fanbase in Taiwan and Vietnam on facebook.

Here's what happened,


Also a Hk player Robbie Capito had a worse demonstration during his encounter with Ko ping chung at last year's predator series, his foul is with cue ball!
at least Kaci won't get caught if we were playing cue ball foul only lol
@46.25

Are the old timers more honest, or are these younger generation just too eager to cash?$$
There is absolutely no question here that he knew he touched the 8 ball with his pinky finger, as after contact with it he immediately moved his finger back and started up with his upper body (most likely waiting for the referee to call the foul) before going back down again.

The question here is whether he should have called it on himself when he realized the referee missed it.
 
Out of curiosity, how many times do you think you guys have moved the cloth and that in turn moved a ball? Intellectually I can see the as possible. But my wisdom says I don’t think I’ve ever encountered it in my life. Would it be less likely in a tournament like this where the felt was professionally installed extremely recently? I feel like it would more likely be something possible on a table installed poorly or really overdue for new cloth. But others may have experiences to challenge that.
I'm sure that the cloth on that table was on very, very tight and could not bunch. Simonis done well won't bunch even if you work at it, and that's true for all the modern, worsted cloths.

However, I used to play in a room that used heavy cloth and it was pretty loose. I don't know if they installed it like that, but that's how the tables were in play. If you ran your bridge hand forward with pressure down, you would get a nice ridge of cloth to rise up. (Palace Billiards, San Francisco, 1970s)
 
so its up to the shooter to decide if the ball was moved because he touched it, or instead if it moved from the cloth.?
or if it even moved?

what about a frozen ball on the rail does the shooter have to call it out to his opponent and if he doesnt and the opponent doesnt care to look does he have to call a foul on himself if he doesnt get a different rail.

what about in a 3 fouls you lose game. does the shooter have to remind the opponent to tell him when he is on two fouls.
and if the opponent doesnt ,, is he supposed to declare losing the game if he then fouls.
 
what about in a 3 fouls you lose game. does the shooter have to remind the opponent to tell him when he is on two fouls.
and if the opponent doesnt ,, is he supposed to declare losing the game if he then fouls.
This is a somewhat different matter. The origin of this rule is from straight pool, where you often spent 45 minutes in the chair after your second foul. Scratches did not reset every rack, so even if you sat down while opponent ran 80, you were still on two.

In 9ball today, if opponent doesn't run out while you're on two, you'll typically be back to the table within a couple of minutes, and a case can be made that the warning isn't really necessary, but the rule remains on the books so it must be respected.
 
Out of curiosity, how many times do you think you guys have moved the cloth and that in turn moved a ball? Intellectually I can see the as possible. But my wisdom says I don’t think I’ve ever encountered it in my life. Would it be less likely in a tournament like this where the felt was professionally installed extremely recently? I feel like it would more likely be something possible on a table installed poorly or really overdue for new cloth. But others may have experiences to challenge that.
I think it's highly unlikely but I've seen it happen once on poorly stretched cloth and I've had it happen to me on loose cloth. I put my weight down on my bridge hand and it moved the CB which was 8" away. You could almost grab a handfull of cloth off the slate.

Probably much less likely in a pro tournament with good conditions, but you never know how good of a job the mechanic did.
 
This is a somewhat different matter. The origin of this rule is from straight pool, where you often spent 45 minutes in the chair after your second foul. Scratches did not reset every rack, so even if you sat down while opponent ran 80, you were still on two.

In 9ball today, if opponent doesn't run out while you're on two, you'll typically be back to the table within a couple of minutes, and a case can be made that the warning isn't really necessary, but the rule remains on the books so it must be respected.
In the old days of 14.1, the foul count was posted on the scoreboard and that was sufficient warning. I suppose they could do that with tournament nine ball as well.
 
In the old days of 14.1, the foul count was posted on the scoreboard and that was sufficient warning. I suppose they could do that with tournament nine ball as well.
Ah, the good old days. I sometimes worked the easel for the scoreboard in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Pro straight pool didn't always have a scoreboard, but yes, it did most of the time.
 
Back
Top