Recent content by poolboy17

  1. poolboy17

    favorite pool sayings

    When I'm trying to coax the cueball a few inches further along sometimes I'll say "Run Forest, RUN!"
  2. poolboy17

    Legal Hit Rules Clarification/Question - Balls Frozen to Rail

    You won't find a rule stating this because it's transparent. By not having a rule stating it IS frozen to the rail you are saying it is not frozen to the rail (hope that makes sense) :). The cueball would only be considered to be frozen to the rail if it were in direct contact with the rail...
  3. poolboy17

    Weird BIH / Cue Ball Fouls Only situation....

    I'm coming into all this a little late so I will just recap a couple of the things discussed. If you touch a ball set in motion by the shot it is a foul...period. Opponent does NOT have the option of restoration and has BIH. As a referee I would give him the benefit of the doubt as to whether...
  4. poolboy17

    Cue Tip Fouls?!?

    You absolutely made the right call. The player obviously had a misunderstanding of the rules because accidental movement of the cueball is a foul under every rule system i can think of regardless if a referee is there or not. The ONLY exception here I can see would be if the shooter had ball in...
  5. poolboy17

    What's the ruling

    I've seen it too but it's clearly wrong. No ifs ands or buts about it...it is a foul. Touching a ball in motion is a foul regardless of whether it is your cue, some part of your body or something you bring to the table. It doesn't matter if its the cueball or any numbered ball. I once saw in a...
  6. poolboy17

    What's the ruling

    I'm not sure I fully understand what you are describing here and would probably have to see it demonstrated on a table. However, i can tell you one thing, if the reaction of the ball was different when you stretched your stroke out...you are either pushing thru a ball or double hitting it. In...
  7. poolboy17

    What's the ruling

    I'm not sure which rule set you were playing by. The BCA only last year made it a foul to move 2 or more balls. Other than a tournament playing all ball fouls or modified BCA rules...I think you can still move numerous balls and as long as it doesn't effect the outcome of the shot...it's not a...
  8. poolboy17

    What's the ruling

    It's no big deal. This rule gets a LOT of people. It ranks right up there with the whole 45 degree double hit debacle (which is actually quite clear but don't get me started :thumbup:) . It just goes to show though how leaving a single detail out of a ref's decision making process might...
  9. poolboy17

    What's the ruling

    No you are not applying this rule correctly. Don't get hung up on the term "cueball fouls only". There are plenty of ways you can foul on a given shot that have nothing to do with the cueball. "Cueball fouls only" referrs to inadvertantly moved object balls that have no bearing on the outcome of...
  10. poolboy17

    An unusual foul called on me, anyone know this rule?

    In BCA and ACS this shot you describe would absolutely be a foul. You are intentionally causing the cueball to rise by striking it below the center line. It does not matter if you are attempting to jump an impeding ball. In the original post, it would NOT be a foul because it was done on accident.
  11. poolboy17

    How would you rule this?

    There is one thing that comes to mind that I've not seen addressed. (A) Was the cueball used to push the opponents ball, thus taking an intentional foul OR (B) was the opponents ball (without use of the cueball) pushed someplace? If it is option A then the balls stay where they are and...
  12. poolboy17

    I'm on this FOUL !!! thing-

    The answer depends on which rules you play by. According to ACS and World Standardized rules it is a foul to lay your stick on the table and use it as an alignment device. The BCA used to use this too. However, under the new BCA use of equipment rules...."you may use your cue stick, held in...
  13. poolboy17

    BCA rules regarding out of turn player.

    I would have to believe this is true regardless of the tournament. In the matter of a judgement call, the referee cannot be overruled unless there's video replay or something. If they give you the wrong interpretation of a rule that may be appealed and overruled if need be.
  14. poolboy17

    BCA rules regarding out of turn player.

    This is actually a fairly common occurance. By today's BCA rules...if it were noticed before the game ended, it would be re-rack and proper players playing/breaking. Once a game has been played...it is scored where the 2 would have otherwise played in the match (If the wrong player broke...
  15. poolboy17

    BCA rule 4.8: 8-Ball Pocketed on the Break

    Hmmm...I say leave it alone The BCA and ACS rules are based on World Standardized rules. I humbly disagree with your notion that you should be able to win or lose on the opening break. Other than nine ball...what pool game can you even win by only making one ball on the opening break? Eight...
Back
Top