tools needed for making cues

brilliance

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
What tools do I need to start making sneaky petes?

Can somebody list good brand & model of tools so I can start researching. Also is there any DVD or book usefull? Thanks

Mcues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
What tools do I need to start making sneaky petes?

Can somebody list good brand & model of tools so I can start researching. Also is there any DVD or book usefull? Thanks

Buy Chris Hightowers' books and dvds' on cuemaking. he will also sell you a lathe. Good first step as any :)

Mario

Kim Bye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I think it's time well spent trying to do some research on your own. As Mario suggested, buy Chris's book and some dvd's, that way you have not really spent any money and you can better determine if this is for you. Although sneaky petes are easier to make than a cue with tons of inlays, you still have to master and grasp quite a few concepts. I'm not a machinist by trade, if that's your starting point, it certainly helps, but if your starting from scratch, your ambition should probably be to master simpler tasks first, like replacing a tip, a ferrule or doing a nice clean wrap job.

whammo57

Kim Walker
Silver Member
yes.... what everyone said....Chris Hightower's book and the DVD's............ also go to the archives of Ask The Cue Maker on this forum and read ALL the back posts.... they are full of information that is essential ................. ask Questions......... but please make sure that you don't ask a question that has already been asked and answered many times............... I know that I did that 9 years ago when I was starting out and I got a lot of offensive comments.......... LOL

good luck

Kim

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member
Are you sure you want to spend some $2000+ to make sneaky petes?

It snowfalls from there. Next thing you know you're in it for thousands of dollars and no cues made yet.

gutshot

AzB Silver Member