Beginer cue maker (25 years old) please advise.

Enigmaticul

Banned
Hi all you wonderful cue makers out there. A little about me. Mi name is Andrei and i live in Indianapolis. I am a student at Indiana university in my senior year for therapeutic recreation (working with people with disabilities). I love playing pool and i have the up most respect for anyone in the pool industry and especially for those that are trying to keep the game alive for the young ones. Competition from video games is kicking our asses people but that is another issue. From Jim Buss to Jacoby i really love all your work and i am privileged to own some of your beautiful work. Its not enough for me to play pool anymore. I want to learn how to make cues and how to continue this tradition. I am a student so for definition i am broke but i did manage to save up some money and buy a TAIG lathe. I have the starter package without a motor, 3 jaw chuck, tail-rest with the Jacobs drill and some bits. I also purchased an extra bed because i want to be able to turn full shafts for cleaning purposes.

I am the President of Indiana University Billiards club so i have a lot of tip changes and new people that need shaft cleaning and general work done to their cues.

I want to be able to do tips, ferules, and cleaning.

I really don't know to much what i am doing but i have a log of good will the internet and common sense.

I still need a motor a controller for that motor and a live center to be able to turn those shafts.

Please help me, any information would be greatly appreciated. I know money would make everything better but i don't have a lot so used parts, tips and trick and so on would be so appreciated.

Best regards
andrei

dakota

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
good advice

contact Chris Hightower at www.cuesmith.com and get his book read and reread it and that will start u on your way