Can't do a draw shot to save my life

PaulHarvey

Registered
Hello, Harvey here.

I tried searching this thread, but you can imagine how many hits I get for "draw."

Let me start by saying I started shooting pool at about age 12 and played regularly for the next 10 years, then stopped. I was completely self-taught and became quite good, even though I knew nothing about position play, english, draw, or any of that. Again, I had no teacher.

Around age 45 (about 12 years ago), I picked it up again. Much to my chagrin, I found I couldn't shoot worth you-know-what. So I bought books, videos, training aids, etc and used them extensively. I'm getting my shooting skills back but I still can't play position because my CB control, especially draw, sucks. The only time I can draw is when I'm six inches or less from the OB and strike it very hard. And even then the CB only comes back about 3 inches at most.

I'm following all the instructions I've read and watched: level stick; below center (half-tip, one tip), smooth stroke, etc. I've tried all different speeds and distances, with the only results being what I mentioned above.

I've played on all types of tables, too. From super fast to super slow.

Oh, and by the way, I can't make a stop shot either (except under the same circumstances above).

Can you help? I'd really like to get this before I'm too old to stand at the table!

Thanks!
Harvey

Scott Lee

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Harvey...Your fundamentals need work. Find a qualified instructor (one who uses video analysis) and you'll get the answers you seek. Tell us where you live and we can probably recommend someone to help you. :D

Scott Lee
http://poolknowledge.com

the kidd

VOTE ONE TIME
Silver Member
Do you have access to a mirror as you shoot. Just watch yourself in a mirror as you stroke to see where you really are striking the cb. If its below center you will draw.

FranCrimi

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hello Harvey,