simonis cloth ?

acidneo895

Registered
I have a 8' AMF playmaster for going on 6 years. I just haad it recovered january 2011. I really would like simonis on it but the company that does the recovers around here says that they wouldnt recommend the cloth since I have a table without a backed slate. what should I do? The felt I have currently is still in good condition just it played really slow compared to simonis. While this felt is good practice for local stuff since there are only 2 tables in town with simonis. When I go out of town and play on stuff that is slicker I find myself having to adjust for a few hours. Not to mention this stuff seems to wear much quicker. Any advise would be great.
Thank you,
Richard

msubilliards

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I just had an 8' AMF Playmaster Hanover installed on Tuesday with Tournament Blue Simonis 860. It has 3/4" unbacked 3 piece slate and it turned out just fine. This is from the Simonis website:

Note for Glue-Down Installations

Simonis cloth can be glued, but only with certain adhesives. Most spray adhesives, WILL NOT hold the cloth in a edge-glue application.

We recommend 3M Fast-Bond10™ for edge-glue glue-down installations. Currently, we are not aware of any other adhesives that will give proper adhesion for a straight edge-glue install.

Jim Vondrell

Accu-Level Billiard Svc
Silver Member
What you should do is find someone to do it! Simonis can be installed very well on unbacked slate. Where are you located?

Dartman

Silver Member
... the company that does the recovers around here says that they wouldnt recommend the cloth since I have a table without a backed slate. what should I do? ...
Translation: we're not very good at installing Simonis cloth :rolleyes:

3M-10 is the glue to use.
Suggest you try contacting Shane (cuephoric) by PM. He works around
your part of the country and will do the job right.

whammo57

Kim Walker
Silver Member
slate

Why don't you put a frame on the bottom of the slate?