Last night a friend of mine was in a game of 1-pocket for $50/game with a fine gentleman from Detroit.
A rule question came up and after a few minutes of discussion and calls to local players there was no sure answer.
Player A broke from the left side establishing the right hand corner pocket to be his. Upon scratching on the break, he mistakenly put a coin to mark his scratch on the left corner pocket (player B's pocket).
The question at hand was: "Did player A lose his right to the pocket he intended by placing his coin on the wrong pocket?"
A rule was brought up that a player must announce his pocket before breaking, but from my 1-pocket experience (or lack there of) I have never seen or heard anyone announce there pocket. This rule is kind of beside the point, but it was just brought up by someone and I thought it was interesting.
Being the gentleman that they are, the players just decided to not count it as a foul and Player B kept the initial (left side) pocket that would have been his.
Does anyone know if a foul was committed by placing the coin on the wrong pocket?
Thanks!
A rule question came up and after a few minutes of discussion and calls to local players there was no sure answer.
Player A broke from the left side establishing the right hand corner pocket to be his. Upon scratching on the break, he mistakenly put a coin to mark his scratch on the left corner pocket (player B's pocket).
The question at hand was: "Did player A lose his right to the pocket he intended by placing his coin on the wrong pocket?"
A rule was brought up that a player must announce his pocket before breaking, but from my 1-pocket experience (or lack there of) I have never seen or heard anyone announce there pocket. This rule is kind of beside the point, but it was just brought up by someone and I thought it was interesting.
Being the gentleman that they are, the players just decided to not count it as a foul and Player B kept the initial (left side) pocket that would have been his.
Does anyone know if a foul was committed by placing the coin on the wrong pocket?
Thanks!