14.1 How do you handle this situation?

ugotactionTX

I'm in dead rack!
Silver Member
playing 14.1 with a buddy and a funny situation came up we weren't sure how to handle....

what happens when you legally pocket the 14th and 15th ball on the same shot? re-rack them all and play the cue ball from where is lies?


the "billiards buddy" scoring app didn't handle it well. we thought we would score it and then rack all 15 balls up but the app only lets you get into the next rack if one is on the table. so we came to an agreement, just not sure how you're supposed to handle it
 
If you pocket the 14th and 15th ball, you re-rack them all and leave the cue ball where it is (assuming it's not in the rack area.

4.8 Special Racking Situations
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.
(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.
(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.
(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.
(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.
In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.


I keep a copy of the 14.1 rules in my case. Having a copy of this table is very handy:

Special Racking Situations
 
Last edited:
Yes, you score all 15 and rack all 15. As always, the cue ball then moves only if it's in the rack.
 
playing 14.1 with a buddy and a funny situation came up we weren't sure how to handle....

what happens when you legally pocket the 14th and 15th ball on the same shot? re-rack them all and play the cue ball from where is lies?


the "billiards buddy" scoring app didn't handle it well. we thought we would score it and then rack all 15 balls up but the app only lets you get into the next rack if one is on the table. so we came to an agreement, just not sure how you're supposed to handle it

Yes. 15 ball rack and play the next rack from wherever the cue ball ended up.

Billiards Buddy handles it fine. After you total up 14, there are two options: "New rack" or "15th ball pocketed". click the 15th ball pocketed and everything works fine.
 
ahhh ok. so we played it right. guess we just missed the scoring option in the App. thanks guys.


damn i love this game...
 
Back
Top