14.1 Rules Question

fd_colorado

Go Pack Go!!!
Silver Member
Player #1 is on 1 foul and then scratches with the cue ball going into a pocket. Player #1 is now "on 2" and Player #2 has ball in hand anywhere in the kitchen.

Player #2 then places the cue ball so it is corner hooked in one of the head corner pockets. Player #2 then "taps" the cue ball so as to leave it fundamentally where it was before the "tap". Strategically, Player #2 was willing to take the foul in exchange for Player #1 having a tough shot to escape the 15 point penalty of the 3rd consecutive foul.

Is this legal?

The only possibly applicable reference that I can find in the BCA rulebook is under General Rules 3.38, which seems to state that Player #1 can require Player #2 to shoot again (in a non-refereed match and without Player #2 incurring a foul).
 
Player #1 is on 1 foul and then scratches with the cue ball going into a pocket. Player #1 is now "on 2" and Player #2 has ball in hand anywhere in the kitchen.

Player #2 then places the cue ball so it is corner hooked in one of the head corner pockets. Player #2 then "taps" the cue ball so as to leave it fundamentally where it was before the "tap". Strategically, Player #2 was willing to take the foul in exchange for Player #1 having a tough shot to escape the 15 point penalty of the 3rd consecutive foul.

Is this legal?

I believe player #2 must first cause the CB to cross over the head string before it is in play. Then, he can intentionally scratch, pocket a ball, roll to a corner hook, whatever..
 
I believe this is the applicable rule per the WPA rules:

6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String
When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string, the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact. If such a shot is intentional, it is unsportsmanlike conduct.
The cue ball must either cross the head string or contact a ball in front of or on the head string or the shot is a foul, and the cue ball is in hand for the following player according to the rules of the specific game.

So, if the player intentionally corner hooked the other player when he was on two, he violated the second paragraph of this rule and the incoming player would get BIH behind the head string (the BIH rules of the specific game).
 
that's an interesting question. I've done similar things without crossing the head string, assuming it was just -1 for me. But I usually just freeze him on the head rail vs. trying to corner hook him.

If you must cross the head string and the ball isn't in play, how does that work?
1. The game is simply "on hold" until you cross the string? Nothing done behind the string matters?
2. Just a plain old -1?
3. Deliberate foul with major penalty?
 
LOL - now I know why Meullers had the BCA Rulebook in a leatherbound edition for only $5.95!!

The book is from 1998 and 6.11 is something totally different in my book. As a matter of fact, I can't even find the heading you quoted.

:mad:
 
LOL - now I know why Meullers had the BCA Rulebook in a leatherbound edition for only $5.95!!

The book is from 1998 and 6.11 is something totally different in my book. As a matter of fact, I can't even find the heading you quoted.

:mad:

The rule is from the WPA rules of 14.1. Here's the link:

http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_141

As it states in this link:

6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String For a foul under the second paragraph of 6.11, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string for the incoming player.

If you click on the rule in the link it gives you the detailed 2 paragraph rule that I quoted in my prior post. As it states, the remedy for a violation of paragraph 2 (in italics in my post) is the incoming player gets BIH behind the head string.
 
... The book is from 1998 and 6.11 is something totally different in my book. As a matter of fact, I can't even find the heading you quoted. ...
The WPA (and therefor the BCA) mandates 5 years between significant changes to the rules. The last major change, which was a complete rewrite and included several large changes for 14.1, took effect on January 1st, 2008. See the above-posted link for the full rules.
 
Back
Top