14.1 rules question

TommyT

Obsessed
Silver Member
While playing Straight pool is it legal to use the rack on a unmarked table to decide whether a ball is in or out of the rack. I was under the impression that when the table is not marked it was OK. Another player said marked or not, you can't use the rack. Who's right??.

TommyT:confused:
 
I don't believe that it can be used that way during tournmaent play. But ALOT of recreational players do and have used it since 99.9% of the tables are not marked for 14.1....it is 1 of those rules that you must clarify before playing.................mike
 
In a tournament, you may request a ruling from the tournament director as to whether any object ball is in the rack area or not. In a friendly game, with no referee available, I generally play that you may either a) request a ruling from your opponent on the matter at any point, or b) request opponent's permission to check yourself.
 
TommyT said:
... Another player said marked or not, you can't use the rack. Who's right??
The rules require a line to be marked around the rack. If there is no line, I think it's entirely reasonable to judge by using the triangle.
 
We talked about this with WPA officials and they said that it's alright to measure the triangle area with a triangle if and only if it's not marked on the cloth.
 
Bob Jewett said:
The rules require a line to be marked around the rack. If there is no line, I think it's entirely reasonable to judge by using the triangle.

So would using a rack on an unmarked tables be within the BCA rules?.

TommyT
 
TommyT said:
So would using a rack on an unmarked tables be within the BCA rules?.
Playing pool on an unmarked table is already not within the BCA rules. Once outside the rules, you do the best you can to be fair. I think that on an unmarked table, it is fair to use the triangle. Your opponent might think something else.
 
Bob Jewett said:
Playing pool on an unmarked table is already not within the BCA rules. Once outside the rules, you do the best you can to be fair. I think that on an unmarked table, it is fair to use the triangle. Your opponent might think something else.


This is exactly how we play at Amsterdam Billiards. All tables are normally marked but occasionally, the markings wear-off and it's difficult to determine exactly what is in or out of the rack-area. Only in those instances is it generally agreed that the rack be used to determine if a ball falls in or out. The in-house straight pool league (which is not BCA affiated) does just that and all matches outside of the league follow suit.
 
Back
Top