14:1

Brian

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Is there a rule regarding laying your cue on the table while racking prior to the initial break or after the initial break? I was watching the video stream of the 14:1 Arizona Desert Classic and the question arose as to whether or not laying the cue on the table while racking was a foul.
 
Brian said:
TY ....I have heard that it was a foul to leave a cue on the table unattended.

Its only a foul if it is used as an aiming device so perhaps if the cue was right in line with the break shot, I would guess it a foul. But i could be all wet on this too. Im sure i will hear soon enough.
 
Nostroke said:
Its only a foul if it is used as an aiming device so perhaps if the cue was right in line with the break shot, I would guess it a foul. But i could be all wet on this too. Im sure i will hear soon enough.

This makes sense to me...

I've never heard that having a cue on the table while racking was a foul, but I suppose if it's the shooter's cue is on the table and it is in line with the break shot, then the cue as an aiming device rule would come into play.
 
BCAPL rules

If you could get a copy of the July 2008 issue of Billiards Digest, you will find a reference to this rule. Mike Shamos wrote about it and other rules. (Around page 58-60)

The BCA Pool League wrote our rule book because of this and other confusing items. It is real nice to get recognition from such an authority as Mike Shamos. He went on to say that our new book is perhas the best out there (my words not his).

It is a lot easier to follow and has diagrams that illustrate confusing issues.

It was a pretty ridiculous situation where a foul could be called because you put your cue stick on the table and had to tie your shoe.

I hope you get a chance to go to our site and view the rules - or better yet, get a copy of the rules.

'Kudos' to Bill Stock, Ken Shuman, and Buddy Eick on a job well done.

Mark Griffin
BCA Pool League
 
We were all joking when that was said. As I said last night, it's actually a great habit to develop. Once years ago, playing Nine Ball, my opponent broke just as I lifted the rack. He was a semi-pro baseball player and had a wicked powerful break. The cueball vaulted the one ball and hit me dead square, knocking me backwards into the table behind me. How I wasn't knocked unconscious I don't know. I lay on the floor for a minute or so and got up. I remember he was pissed because we were playing a cheap set and he was winning. I quit after that break. I laughed in his face when he got pissed. To this day I always place my cue on the table until I finish racking. I never have to worry about it's whereabouts either :wink: ...Tom
 
World Billiard Association..... Rule 6.12 Cue Stick on the Table
If the shooter uses his cue stick in order to align a shot by placing it on the table without having a hand on the stick, it is a foul. The foregoing applies to 14.1
 
In "Official Rules of the BCA Pool League" Rule 1.3 a (Use of Equipment) states:
You may use only your cue stick, held in your hand or not, to help align a shot.
 
I actually talked to a BCA ref about this a few months ago because I wanted to know if I needed to look out for anything. Let's say you go to tie your shoe, you can leave your cue on the table. If you are returning the bridge to its shelf, you can leave your cue on the table. You CANNOT leave your cue on the table and then survey the table.

This isn't meant to be used as a sneaky-rule or something. It's meant to be pretty plain. If you're going to use your cue to measure up a shot, you must be in contact with your cue.
 
Brian said:
Is there a rule regarding laying your cue on the table while racking prior to the initial break or after the initial break? I was watching the video stream of the 14:1 Arizona Desert Classic and the question arose as to whether or not laying the cue on the table while racking was a foul.

I was watching the tournament. I think Brian was talking about when the opponent who wasn't shooting went up to rack, he would lay his cue on the table, tip facing the kitchen, until he had racked and then pick it up, walk away and let his opponent shoot. I do that all the time and don't think it is a foul. It is completely different from when the shooter lays his cue on the table to assist in aiming.
 
What about this one...I am still a bit unsure but I don't think it is a foul.

While I was waiting for my match I was watching trying to learn some strategy moves and pick up any tips I could.

I noticed a player took the rack out and placed it on the table to eye up where his intended break ball would be in relation to the rack.

I was nearing the end of a rack and had a couple options on a break ball. So I pulled the rack out and held it over where the balls would be racked...(I did not lay the rack on the table because there was a ball in the rack area...I just held it over the area close to the table.

I assumed this was not a foul since I saw someone else do it...I don't think my opponent knew the rule either but did call the TD to question if it was a fould...He did not stop me from shooting but I could over hear the conversation...He was told it was not a foul as long as the rack did not touch the table.......The guy I saw do this that put the thought in my head actually layed the rack on the table but did not let go of the rack.

Question is

Is it a foul to use the rack to measure a break ball position?
Is it a foul to lay the rack on the table while holding on to it to measure a break ball position?

Just curious for future reference...I never would have done it if I thought it was cheating.
 
About using the cue stick as a measuring device, Rodney Morris was penalized with a foul when he was competing in the WPC. I can't remember the year. I want to say it was 2002, but it might have been 2003.

He used his cue stick to aim for an upcoming shot, and the referee gave his opponent ball in hand. I tried to search for the article on AzBilliards Main Page, but I can't find it. I do remember reading all about it. Charlie Williams stated that the rules were not clear, or words to that effect.

I think it's a good idea to lay the cue stick on the table when racking balls. Sometimes the breaker will hit them with such force and so fast, that you may not have time to get out of the way of flying balls. Not a good thing. Those flying balls can hurt! :yikes:

JAM
 
I usually lay my cue on the table when racking because I don't want the person to break before I get away from the table. I'm honestly not worried about myself as much as I am worried about him. Breaking before I get away from the table sets me off real quick. I'm usually a very calm and easy going person but that cue ball coming at me a hundred miles an hour, I know, it's more like 25 or so, anyway, when that ball comes at me I lose it real quick.
MULLY
 
BRKNRUN said:
What about this one...I am still a bit unsure but I don't think it is a foul.

While I was waiting for my match I was watching trying to learn some strategy moves and pick up any tips I could.

I noticed a player took the rack out and placed it on the table to eye up where his intended break ball would be in relation to the rack.

I was nearing the end of a rack and had a couple options on a break ball. So I pulled the rack out and held it over where the balls would be racked...(I did not lay the rack on the table because there was a ball in the rack area...I just held it over the area close to the table.

I assumed this was not a foul since I saw someone else do it...I don't think my opponent knew the rule either but did call the TD to question if it was a fould...He did not stop me from shooting but I could over hear the conversation...He was told it was not a foul as long as the rack did not touch the table.......The guy I saw do this that put the thought in my head actually layed the rack on the table but did not let go of the rack.

Question is

Is it a foul to use the rack to measure a break ball position?
Is it a foul to lay the rack on the table while holding on to it to measure a break ball position?

Just curious for future reference...I never would have done it if I thought it was cheating.


I'm sure if the table does not have a sketch out of the triangle you may use the rack, w/o a foul.
 
I received a foul call from a player in a tourny one time because I let go of my stick on the playin surface. You may measure, but your cue cannot leave your hand.
 
Back
Top