Here's the situation: you're playing "table always open after the break" and the breaker pockets a solid. He doesn't like the opening shot on any of the solids so he tries (but fails) to pocket a stripe.
Is the table still open? Or does the breaker have the option of taking the group he made on the break (solids in this example)?
The World Standardized Rules imply that groups aren't determined until a player pockets a "called" ball...and obviously no ball is called on the break.
What say the AZ Sages? Is the table still open or can the breaker claim solids?
Thanks.
Is the table still open? Or does the breaker have the option of taking the group he made on the break (solids in this example)?
The World Standardized Rules imply that groups aren't determined until a player pockets a "called" ball...and obviously no ball is called on the break.
What say the AZ Sages? Is the table still open or can the breaker claim solids?
Thanks.