8-Ball rules question

bdorman

Dead money
Silver Member
Here's the situation: you're playing "table always open after the break" and the breaker pockets a solid. He doesn't like the opening shot on any of the solids so he tries (but fails) to pocket a stripe.

Is the table still open? Or does the breaker have the option of taking the group he made on the break (solids in this example)?

The World Standardized Rules imply that groups aren't determined until a player pockets a "called" ball...and obviously no ball is called on the break.

What say the AZ Sages? Is the table still open or can the breaker claim solids?

Thanks.
 
Here's the situation: you're playing "table always open after the break" and the breaker pockets a solid. He doesn't like the opening shot on any of the solids so he tries (but fails) to pocket a stripe.

Is the table still open? Or does the breaker have the option of taking the group he made on the break (solids in this example)?

The World Standardized Rules imply that groups aren't determined until a player pockets a "called" ball...and obviously no ball is called on the break.

What say the AZ Sages? Is the table still open or can the breaker claim solids?

Thanks.
I think that between Rule 3.3(c)
If the breaker pockets a ball and does not foul, he continues at the table, and the table remains open.
and Rule 3.4
3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups
Before groups are determined, the table is said to be “open,” and before each shot, the shooter must call his intended ball. If the shooter legally pockets his called ball, the corresponding group becomes his, and his opponent is assigned the other group. If he fails to legally pocket his called ball, the table remains open and play passes to the other player. When the table is “open”, any object ball may be struck first except the eight ball.​
that the situation you describe is covered. How could it be phrased more clearly?
 
Back
Top