9 Ball 3 point break rule question

zencues.com

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
9 Ball 3 point break rule question... does an object ball crossing the head string and then going into a pocket

count as 1 point or 2 points towards the 3 point requirement?
 
9 Ball 3 point break rule question... does an object ball crossing the head string and then going into a pocket

count as 1 point or 2 points towards the 3 point requirement?
The rules (or in this case, the regulations) are available online. Here is the applicable sentence:

On the break shot, a minimum of three object balls must either be pocketed, or touch the head string line, or a combination of both.

Has to be three balls involved.

Here are the rules and regulations:

 
On the break shot, at minimum, each of three object balls must either be pocketed, or touch the head string line, or a combination of both.

Now it will hold up in court.
 
@ 02:30 Ball in back pocket is considered 2 points. I'd go with this. Skwew compliance. bet he gets corrected eventually.
 
I ask because of this video:

...

It disagrees with "three different".
It's possible that in an early version of the three-point rule for some event that was the case. It's best to refer to the current, written rule set rather than some random video.
 
And near the end of his video on the 3-point rule, Philly Fingers called non-compliant breaks fouls, which they are not.
 
They do result in situations that require loss of turn and further penalty to the shooter. (?)
On a non-compliant break, the non-breaker has a choice -- take the table as it is or give it back to the breaker. No foul (no ball in hand).
 
On a non-compliant break, the non-breaker has a choice -- take the table as it is or give it back to the breaker. No foul (no ball in hand).
Nothing called a foul. Still the shooter is penalized at the whim of the opposition. It's a foul. What bothers me though is the term applied. The break is bad, just call it bad. People will learn the situation.
 
Back
Top