9 ball rules question on CB fouls only

KoolKat9Lives

Taught 'em all I know
Silver Member
Yesterday an opponent made a good hit on the OB, but during the shot his stick inadvertently hit another ball. That ball moved a few inches and the CB hit it after the legal hit. The CB would not have hit it had that ball not been hit.

Is that BIH?
 
Yesterday an opponent made a good hit on the OB, but during the shot his stick inadvertently hit another ball. That ball moved a few inches and the CB hit it after the legal hit. The CB would not have hit it had that ball not been hit.

Is that BIH?

Yeah, it's a foul....it altered the running of the balls.
 
Yeah, it's a foul....it altered the running of the balls.
Its a foul but is it BIH? OP mentioned CB fouls only. If playing CB fouls only the player keeps shooting but other player has option to return the struck ball back to original spot. Yes/no?
 
Last edited:
Its a foul but is it BIH? OP mentioned CB fouls only. If playing CB fouls only the player keeps shooting but other player has option to return the struck ball back to original spot. Yes/no?

No. The path of the balls were altered by a ball that shouldn't have been moved. If he just moved a ball with his stick and the cue didn't hit it, then yes opponents option to place it back or leave it.

But because the object ball that was moved contacted the cue ball, altering the path of it, it's a foul. A cue ball foul, concisely. BIH
 
Its a foul but is it BIH? OP mentioned CB fouls only. If playing CB fouls only the player keeps shooting but other player has option to return the struck ball back to original spot. Yes/no?

Yes, it is BIH.
 
No. The path of the balls were altered by a ball that shouldn't have been moved. If he just moved a ball with his stick and the cue didn't hit it, then yes opponents option to place it back or leave it.

But because the object ball that was moved contacted the cue ball, altering the path of it, it's a foul. A cue ball foul, concisely. BIH
Good explanation. Works for me.
 
Around here "one ball is OK" seems to be more and more common. If you move two balls it's a foul.

I think it would be easier to just go to "all ball fouls."
 
Its a foul but is it BIH? OP mentioned CB fouls only. If playing CB fouls only the player keeps shooting but other player has option to return the struck ball back to original spot. Yes/no?

Well, if it's a foul, it's ball in hand. If it's only a moved ball and it did not interfere with another ball, it's not a foul if you are playing CB fouls only. Because the moved ball interfered with another ball, it's a foul. If it was just moved, it's not a foul when playing CB only, so no ball in hand then.
 
If people played real pool they would call all fouls. No such thing as touching any ball with anything except for the one time you touch the tip of the cue to the cue ball on the shot.
 
Back
Top