9 ball spotting question

It should spot on the spot, not whare the one ball goes. Balls spot on the foot spot.
Absolutely it goes on the spot.

Never above the spot, except if there no room below the spot on a straight line from
the center of the spot to the middle diamond on the foot rail to place a ball. Then it goes
above the spot. Games most likely for this to happen are 1 hole and 14.1. I have only seen
it happen twice in a game I was playing, both 1 hole games.
 
That is odd. Shuman has a discussion with Shane, when he questions the spot, and tells him something close to, “it goes where the one goes.” Shuman is no stranger to rules and not likely to make stuff up on the fly. This was 2016 DCC, was it a WPA event then? Any chance there was a “made up” rule set being used or is it just a mistake, made by a man with a ton of experience?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
That is odd. Shuman has a discussion with Shane, when he questions the spot, and tells him something close to, “it goes where the one goes.” Shuman is no stranger to rules and not likely to make stuff up on the fly. This was 2016 DCC, was it a WPA event then? Any chance there was a “made up” rule set being used or is it just a mistake, made by a man with a ton of experience?
The "9 on the spot rule" was/is a new situation. I think the rule simply said to rack the nine on the spot. There was no change to the spotting rule, which refers to the foot spot. Or at least I have never seen a written rule that moved the spotting point or the foot spot to the changed location of the one ball. If the rule had been changed like that, the rule should also have required the new one ball location to be marked.
 
The moving of the 9 to the spot didn't slow Shane. He made the 1 in the side in all of the breaks following the respoted 9 in the wrong place. 🤷‍♂️
 
It kinda makes sense to me that a spotted ball would go to the 1 ball spot when playing 9 on the spot. I believe in all other games a spotted ball spots where the head ball was in the rack was as long as no other ball is occupying that location at the time. But I have no idea if there is a rule somewhere that says one way or the other.
 
It kinda makes sense to me that a spotted ball would go to the 1 ball spot when playing 9 on the spot. I believe in all other games a spotted ball spots where the head ball was in the rack was as long as no other ball is occupying that location at the time. But I have no idea if there is a rule somewhere that says one way or the other.
IMG_1449.jpeg
 
Does WPA play 9 on the spot??
There’s layers to answering that question.

First is that we are talking about this because Matchroom plays 9 on the spot.
IMG_1451.jpeg


And Matchroom uses the world standardized (WPA) rules except where they state their own event specific rules. So that’s where they’ll spot balls per the WPA rules (on the foot spot) because that’s the standard rule and they don’t articulate their own variation to that.
IMG_1452.jpeg


But for the WPA itself, their events are stuck back with the archaic 1 on the spot with the 3 point rule. So things like the EuroTour are not likely to have 9 on the spot. But the WPA (prior to their fight with Matchroom) had been turning a blind eye to Matchroom’s break format. And probably do so based on this regulation.
IMG_1450.jpeg
 
... But for the WPA itself, their events are stuck back with the archaic 1 on the spot with the 3 point rule. ...
I'm pretty sure the WPA will be moving to nine on the spot. I'm not sure what might happen with the WPA 3 point rule but I suspect it will be modified. And I would argue that Matchroom should at least consider some form of the 3-point rule to replace their rather nebulous "you gotta smack 'em nice and firm" rule.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
Back
Top