9ball rules question….

jcpoolgod

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
i thought i tried to ask this the other day….i couldn't find it….

9ball….the breaker scratches…..

you have ball in hand….

can you roll out ?
 
i thought i tried to ask this the other day….i couldn't find it….

9ball….the breaker scratches…..

you have ball in hand….

can you roll out ?



Yes...the shot after the break you can roll out no matter what
 
What in the heck does roll out mean?....... Not a pro here.

Got it....

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
I dont think you can play a push out if a foul has occured.

2.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out
If no foul is committed on the break shot, the shooter may choose to play a “push out” as his shot. He must make his intention known to the referee, and then rules 6.2 Wrong Ball First and 6.3 No Rail after Contact are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player chooses who will shoot next.

From the WPA rules
 
Scratch on break

Wouldn't really be a push if opponent scratched on break, seeins as you would get ball in hand. That being said you would need to ensure you are shooting the 1 ball/lowest numbered ball on table and also that you either pocket that ball or drive atleast one ball to a rail.
 
I cannot imagine a table situation where one would want to perform a Push-Out after a break-scratch in 9-ball.
 
I would say no. A legal break has to happen before a push can be played. A legal break is usually defined as 4 balls being pushed into the rails, with the ball in the foot spot being struck first.
 
i thought i tried to ask this the other day….i couldn't find it….

9ball….the breaker scratches…..

you have ball in hand….

can you roll out ?

That's an interesting situation, I'd have to say "no" although I don't think there is any time at all where you'd want to give the shot back when having ball in hand so I doubt this situation has ever come up to get an official ruling on. If you don't have a good run out, play a safe.
 
I cannot imagine a table situation where one would want to perform a Push-Out after a break-scratch in 9-ball.

Cluster? Make one or break one.

1 b tied up and money ball hanging in the hole...?

Put in some effort or we are gonna make you run a
Lap around the pool table
 
That's an interesting situation, I'd have to say "no" although I don't think there is any time at all where you'd want to give the shot back when having ball in hand so I doubt this situation has ever come up to get an official ruling on. If you don't have a good run out, play a safe.

You gonna follow him on the lap.
 
But if you have ball in hand...and dont like the table spread, and do a push-out, he will just give the shot back and now you are stuck worse off....just do the safety
 
it happened to me the other day…..player broke and left the 9ball hanging in the pocket..he scratched. i was like wow. can you push out from here? neither of us knew the rule..i just made the 9 ….it was just a weird shot …..and a crazy situation. just wanted to know...
 
Gulp?

it happened to me the other day…..player broke and left the 9ball hanging in the pocket..he scratched. i was like wow. can you push out from here? neither of us knew the rule..i just made the 9 ….it was just a weird shot …..and a crazy situation. just wanted to know...

You did what? Play to a safe and combo the nine if you get ball in hand. Make him kick safe you. If you watch tourneys that have three foul, unless there is a clear table, you will often see the player will ball in hand play a lock down safe to try foul his opponent out.
 
Last edited:
Cluster? Make one or break one.

1 b tied up and money ball hanging in the hole...?

Put in some effort or we are gonna make you run a
Lap around the pool table

I'm thinking it may be you who needs to put more effort into the thought of this.

Playing a push out in any situation likely leads to you getting the shot back, now without ball in hand, and probably on one foul first.
 
I'm thinking it may be you who needs to put more effort into the thought of this.

Playing a push out in any situation likely leads to you getting the shot back, now without ball in hand, and probably on one foul first.

I take that back.

If I know for sure my opponent will swing at anything then maybe I'd push out. Except for the fact that if my opponent will swing at anything he probably can't win anyway, so I'd still just shoot with ball in hand.
 
I can't imagine a time I'd consider a roll out if I had ball in hand any where on the table. If the layout looked that bad try to play a killer safety and win on the three foul rule. Your opponent is already on one for scratching and if you can lock him or her up well enough they'd be on two then see what happens. I have no idea what layout you are talking about and that's just a thought or option to consider.
 
I'm thinking it may be you who needs to put more effort into the thought of this.

Playing a push out in any situation likely leads to you getting the shot back, now without ball in hand, and probably on one foul first.

That's it! Run a lap!!

The op says I have bih coz other player scratched.

If the 1 is not hittable and the 9 hangs in the hole, the proper move is to make the 9. Might as well say 'push'. It's a good move, if you can get away with it
 
The rule stats if no foul has occurred you can play a push so if a foul has occurred you would not be allowed to play a push.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
if you have ball in hand, why would you just do a push out? you can do anything, and be a lot more creative
 
Here is the official WPA rule on this.

2.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out
If no foul is committed on the break shot, the shooter may choose to play a “push out” as his shot. He must make his intention known to the referee, and then rules 6.2 Wrong Ball First and 6.3 No Rail after Contact are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player chooses who will shoot next.

With that said, even if it were legal (and it's not), there is absolutely no scenario whatsoever where you should want to push with BIH. If anyone can think of anything, I'd love to see a diagram but I'm pretty sure most of us would be able to find a better shot to take.

Just food for thought, if the 1-ball is completely surrounded by a cluster and your opponent is already on a foul, leave the cluster or tie it up some more. The 3-foul rule will force him to break-up the cluster for you or he'll lose the game.
 
Back
Top