Ambitious idea to "make" a cue with hand tools

Autist

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi all, I know this thread should be under Cuemaker forum, but I figured I would get more attention posting here. If moderators so wish, you can kindly move my thread to the correct forum.

I have a broken cue. The shaft is okay and straight, the joint of the shaft is also okay.

I don't have the funds to buy myself a decent cue at the moment.
I like to work with wood, but I have little experience and minimum tools.

Anyway, as my girlfriend works in a pool hall, I can get an old house cue with a broken shaft.

I also have my uni-loc join part taken off of the broken butt end of my old cue.

I was thinking of cutting the old house cue in half, and in some way drill a center hole into the old butt, and glue the male part of the joint into the hole.

I was also thinking about sanding down the finish on the old house cue. I am also pretty sure that once I connect my shaft and the old house cue butt, they wont match exactly, eg. the butt part will be thicker. I am intending to simply sand down the butt all the way through to evenly match with my shaft part.

Since I am going to sand everything down, I am also removing some of the dents and stuff the old house cue has suffered from.

And then the finish question. Will some layers of spray finishing give me satisfactory results?

I don't have a lathe, but I think I could somehow improvise and use my power drill as a lathe for sanding down the butt end of the cue.

Do you think there is point in this at all? Will I just be wasting my time without a real lathe? I think the most difficult part will be to drill the joint hole exactly into the middle. Any suggestions how to do it with extreme accuracy without a lathe?

I am pretty sure I am going to try this. My dream is to one day build a cue, and this seems like a good place to start, experiment. Any suggestions and advice is welcome.