another 9 ball question

nine o nine

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Playing call pocket 9 ball the shooter called the one ball to a corner pocket and a carom to the nine ball in the opposite pocket.
#1...did both balls and pockets need to be called?
niether ball went in but a legal hit was made on both balls
#2 if only one or the other ball went in was it a legal shot and the inning continued?
#3 The opponent picked up the cue ball and declared it in hand since he believed it
was a foul. I stayed quiet on the pine but I believe it was simply a miss and should have been played where it landed. The game was not a tourney but played in
a "friendly" atmosphere. Nerves got frayed.........Mitch
 
there are a buncha "what ifs" in this situation....

none of them matter, no ball was pocketed, and a legal hit was made. Definitely NOT ball in hand.

now, to the what ifs....call one ball or the other, both won't fly. Still I don't see a foul being called. Unless he pockets the 9 and declares himself the winner after calling both balls. Then I have a problem
 
I would say if you are playing call pocket in 9 ball you would need to call both being one of them was the 9 and would result in a win. But this is just speculation as I don't shoot 9 ball and have basic understanding of it.

However, if say he was shooting at the 1 and caromed into say the 7 and made both, only the 1 or neither but hit the 1 first it is a perfectly legal shot. Clearly if he hit the 1 and then only made the 7 after the carom it is not legal as it was not called.

The player that took ball in hand was wrong and fouled by picking up the ball. The player simply missed his shot and hit the legal ball first, thus no foul was committed. Even if he made the 9 after hitting the original ball it is not BIH. The 9 is spotted (if I recall 9 ball rules correctly) and he shoots from where the CB lies.
 
Playing call pocket 9 ball the shooter called the one ball to a corner pocket and a carom to the nine ball in the opposite pocket.
#1...did both balls and pockets need to be called? THIS RULE SHOULD OF BEEN KNOWN BEFORE PLAY BEGAN.
niether ball went in but a legal hit was made on both balls
#2 if only one or the other ball went in was it a legal shot and the inning continued? AGAIN, WHAT GROUND RULES DID YOU SET?
#3 The opponent picked up the cue ball and declared it in hand since he believed it
was a foul. NOW YOU'VE GOT AGRESSIVE BEHAVIOR OF SOME SORT TO DEAL WITH... IF IT'S HIS HOME COURT, AND IF HE'S A TUSH HOG....no petting ;).

I stayed quiet on the pine but I believe it was simply a miss and should have been played where it landed. The game was not a tourney but played in
a "friendly" atmosphere. Nerves got frayed.........Mitch[/QUOTE

Yep, but no one got physical....welcome to an aspect of the pool world and life, that I despise.
 
Admittedly I don't play much nine ball but as far as I know .. there's no such thing as called shot nine ball so you have to make up your own rules.

If the rules aren't stipulated before you play, then you are subject to arguments since you are making them up as you go.

Why reinvent the wheel in an effort to make 9 ball a good game? Just leave it for what it is and when you want to play a called ball game play 8 ball or straight pool.

Maybe there is a set rule someplace for this kind of thing but personally I think it's silly allow calling more than one ball. I also think it's silly not to be able to play a two way shot in 9 ball ... so ...... therefore I personally don't think called shot 9 ball is a good idea in the interest to take the luck out of it. Rather, just play a game that isn't as lucky.

Isn't there some form of 10 ball that is called shot? I just don't enjoy rotation games so I'm not up on all that, but why not just play by those rules?

But if I hadda play the game, I'd think you pick one ... call it and so long as you hit the lowest numbered ball on the table first, if your called ball goes in, its good regardless of what happens to the other ball.
 
Playing call pocket 9 ball the shooter called the one ball to a corner pocket and a carom to the nine ball in the opposite pocket.
#1...did both balls and pockets need to be called? niether ball went in but a legal hit was made on both balls
#2 if only one or the other ball went in was it a legal shot and the inning continued?
#3 The opponent picked up the cue ball and declared it in hand since he believed it was a foul. I stayed quiet on the pine but I believe it was simply a miss and should have been played where it landed. The game was not a tourney but played in a "friendly" atmosphere. Nerves got frayed.........Mitch

My .02 cents:

"Call pocket 9-ball" could mean you have to call the ball and pocket on each shot, or it could mean you just have to call the 9.

AFAIK, you only call one ball and one pocket on each shot in call shot games. If you only have to call the 9, and you don't make the 9 but you make another ball on a legal shot, it's still your shot. If you have to call every shot then you either call the 9 or another ball, but not both.

If it was a legal shot then it's not a foul. The foul occurred when the opponent picked up the cueball and declared BIH.
 
Always ask what rule set to refer whenever questions arise, such as Texas Express 9-ball, but need to call each shot.
 
Under BCA rules, you can't call two balls. Even if you make both, it's still your opponent's turn next. It's not a foul though. Maybe the guy thought it was a foul to call both?
 
Sounds like the rules were unclear and you were both confused, which happens when you play a game with modified rules like call-shot 9 ball.

If you're playing call-shot on all balls, you can only call one shot at a time, so:
1. You either make the called ball in the called pocket and keep shooting, or your turn ends. (Making a legal hit and missing the called shot is not a foul).

2. If the 9-ball is called and drops in the called pocket, it's a win, otherwise, it spots up.

Simple as that.
 
1. If he was wanting to make the 9 then he should call the 9. The one doesn't need to be called, just hit. Calling both is a nit way to try and keep shooting if you make the 1 but miss the 9. Call the 9. If you make the one and miss the 9, too bad. Sit down.

2. If he hit the lowest ball on the table it definitely is NOT a foul in any way, shape, or form. Just a missed shot.

Reading some of the stuff that goes on in pool rooms in the U.S. I have no idea why anyone would ever want to be involved with pool.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
Back
Top