sjm said:This happened during the 2004 BCA Open. If you were there, you'll recall that the Connelly table pockets were spitting some balls out. The ruling was that the pocket lining was part of the pocket, which is considered part of the rail. No foul!
Nostroke said:Thanks SJM. No i didnt know that they made that ruling. Actually i thought I read in one of those ask-the-ref things that it was indeed a foul.
sjm said:I've heard both sides of the argument, but I'm relating how it was ruled on the one occasion I saw it happen in competition.
As we know, there are BCA rules, WPA rules, Eurotour rules, WPBA rules, UPA rules, and about 8 trillion other versions of the rules, so there may not even exist an answer!
sjm said:I've heard both sides of the argument, but I'm relating how it was ruled on the one occasion I saw it happen in competition.
As we know, there are BCA rules, WPA rules, Eurotour rules, WPBA rules, UPA rules, and about 8 trillion other versions of the rules, so there may not even exist an answer!
Jude Rosenstock said:A,,,,,,,,,,,,,,What would the ruling be if, on the lag, one player froze his ball to the head-rail and the other left his in the jaws of the corner-pocket (technically further uptable than his opponent's frozen ball)?
Jude Rosenstock said:What would the ruling be if, on the lag, one player froze his ball to the head-rail and the other left his in the jaws of the corner-pocket (technically further uptable than his opponent's frozen ball)?
Jude Rosenstock said:Aside from the precedent you offer, I think it's important to recognize the spirit of the rule. It's there so that people aren't tapping balls around the table as a means of leaving someone safe. Balls popping out of pockets was likely not in the minds of the people who created this ruling but had it been, it can be fair to say that they would rule such a shot as legal.
In general, I think it's important to recognize what a rule is trying to accomplish. Aside from the specifics (or lack thereof), one needs to have a general understanding when making a ruling that no book at hand covers. An interesting opposite to this scenario would be this: What would the ruling be if, on the lag, one player froze his ball to the head-rail and the other left his in the jaws of the corner-pocket (technically further uptable than his opponent's frozen ball)?
Nostroke said:Your opponent shoots a stop-shot straight into the side pocket but it gets spit back out. Are you entitled to take ball in hand? No rail was contacted.
TX Poolnut said:I've been playing for years and thought I'd seen everything (including 2 balls jammed over the end of the slate shelf in a pocket twice!), but I've never even thought about this. Nice post!![]()