Balls "Locked" in a pocket... what the RIGHT call?

dirtypool40

I love this freakin' game
Silver Member
The other day it happened to me; The 4 was hanging, I was afraid I would make both when I shot the 3 at it, so I shot the combo to the open side of the pocket, expecting to make both and played shape for the 5.

The balls LOCKED IN THE POCKET, juuuuuuuuust past the edge of the slate. I had shape on the 5.

The balls did NOT come to rest on the flat, horizontal playing surface, but one ball was still touching the rounded edge of the slate. This appeared to be what was holding them both up.

What's the call?

- I take a foul, and it's ball in hand for my opponent

- The balls are no longer in play, and scored as "down" and I shoot from where I left the CB

- My opponent's shot from where I left the CB, treating the shot as a miss




I'd like to hear from the experts first, then I will tell you what I think, and what actually happened.
 
If the bases of both balls were over the edge of the slate, as you describe, then they would both be considered pocketed. You would call a ref over, or someone to act in that capacity, to confirm this. Then he would put both balls in the pocket and you would keep shooting.

If the base of either or both were still completely above the bed of the table, then the ones in that position would remain in place. Your inning would continue only if your called ball would be pocketed by this rule.
 
The other day it happened to me; The 4 was hanging, I was afraid I would make both when I shot the 3 at it, so I shot the combo to the open side of the pocket, expecting to make both and played shape for the 5.

The balls LOCKED IN THE POCKET, juuuuuuuuust past the edge of the slate. I had shape on the 5.

The balls did NOT come to rest on the flat, horizontal playing surface, but one ball was still touching the rounded edge of the slate. This appeared to be what was holding them both up.

What's the call?

- I take a foul, and it's ball in hand for my opponent

- The balls are no longer in play, and scored as "down" and I shoot from where I left the CB

- My opponent's shot from where I left the CB, treating the shot as a miss




I'd like to hear from the experts first, then I will tell you what I think, and what actually happened.

When two balls wedge in a pocket such that if you removed either one, the other would fall into the pocket, then they are both considered pocketed. Put them both in the pocket and play continues as if they previous shot had pocketed both balls, which in this case means it's your turn shooting the 5 from where you left the CB.

-Andrew
 
This should answer your question.
3.33 JAWED BALLS
If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball directly downward from its locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee’s assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred.



http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_gen.shtml

Steve
 
I think whoever is making the call would have to look down directly over the ball/s. If the centerline of a ball is past the edge of the slate/pocket, then it would fall of its own accord and should be considered pocketed. If not, then it is not counted as pocketed.

Noone can or should try judge any slope in the bed which might cause a ball not past the edge to roll into the pocket anyway.

This way makes it "sort of" clear. Anything else is a pure judgement call.

IMHO.
 
Last edited:
Thanks guys, that's what I thought.

It was a cheap set, but I was on a B&R and got shape on the 5, I wanted to keep going.

They asked 2-3 guys and no one could agree. My opponent was stuck a set, and clearly wanted his chance, so I just said what I thought, and then let him shoot...


...the balls were so deep, he missed, giving me ball in hand. :p
 
I had the same thing happen to me about 7 years ago. I did the same and gave my opponent the turn. He in turn fired at the ball and they acted like a ramp shooting whitey 30 feet across the pool hall. Good thing he was "on 2" already because after seing that I REALLY didn't know what to do with them.
 
What you need is the first paragraph from Rule 8.3 from the Definitions section of the World Standardized Rules:

8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.​
 
When two balls wedge in a pocket such that if you removed either one, the other would fall into the pocket, then they are both considered pocketed. Put them both in the pocket and play continues as if they previous shot had pocketed both balls, which in this case means it's your turn shooting the 5 from where you left the CB.

-Andrew

Correct answer here.
 
Back
Top